We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2011

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was a little nervous about our visit to Wyndham Long Wharf; however, our experience was very pleasant. Check in went smoothly, and we received a unit that was just as promised. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions about area restaurants when we asked for recommendations. We needed help getting the heat turned up on the programmable thermostat in our unit, and a staff member was at our door within 10 minutes of our call to the front desk. The resort location is great-- within easy walking distance to many great restaurants and shopping, which is especially nice because general parking in the area is limited and can be expensive. We were not in one of the already remodeled units, so the room decor and furniture in our two bedroom unit were not brand new and showed some slight wear consistent with their age, but everything was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay in the Wyndham Long Wharf any time we visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qct222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

I booked a three bedroom suite back in June and prepaid for it. I was NEVER told that it was a time share nor was I told that there was a possiblilty that the room would not be available. I called in Sept to reconfirm my reservation and was told that I was all set.
In Oct, 1 night prior to my checking in, I got a call telling me that the suite wasn't available due to "the owners" having priority. I paid $800 for two nights and was told that I was being moved to a Residence Inn 5+ miles from downtown Newport and to a facility who's rooms were about 1/2 the price I paid. Needless to say I was livid and disappointed that my trip with 3 others was completely ruined after months of planning, I will NEVER recommend this organization to anyone and will try my best to bad mouth them every chance I get.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay here.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank chris z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We rented a condo at this resort from VacationRentals.com. We rented a specific property and dealt with the owner of that property, not with the resort. I assumed the photos we saw on the web site were the photos of the specific condo we were renting. It was described as having a balcony with a view of the harbor. When we arrived we discovered the property was a two-floor townhouse (the website had said nothing about a two-storied condo) and told that the condo we were renting did not belong to the owner from whom I'd rented, but rather condos were assigned by the resort on a first-come, first-served basis (depending on when you rent them, not when you arrive). The two friends who were with me both have bad knees so the stairs were a problem, but because we had arrived so late in the evening and were very tired after a long travel day, we decided to make do. Another disappointment was our "view," which actually was of an alley and a neighboring building with a brick wall. As a result the condo was very dark -- the lights had to be on during the day as well as at night, and the lighting was less than adequate -- no wall switches worked in the living room or bedrooms. The condo was clean and the beds were comfortable, and the location very good, but that's about all I can say that's positive. We had talked for months beforehand about looking forward to sitting on the balcony overlooking the harbor with cocktails in hand -- what a terrible disappointment! Also one morning one of the cleaning personnel walked in unannounced and without knocking.

Room Tip: I would suggest a different hotel in Newport. I'm not sure you could ever be assured of getting...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EliseF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We called 3 days before to confirm our 3 bedroom suite and everything was confirmed and well. When we got there they canceled our room due to over booking and relocated us to a different hotel. They did not call or e-mail us any of this information. They also told us they did not have 3 individual rooms to give us that they were all booked and everyone was checked mind you this was 10 a.m. in the morning so apparently everyone got there before us. The other hotel was about a 15 minute drive away in Middletown RI not even in Newport. The hotel they put us in was a Marriot hotel but what really upset me was the Marriot in Newport neighboring them had available rooms why not put us there versus the Marriot in Middletown in location we did not want to stay (because the Middletown room rates are cheaper). After numerous phone calls bettween Wyndham and Extra Holidays (there booking company because "Wyndham does not do there own booking") They transfered us into the Marriot in Newport, it ruined half my day and was very aggreviating I had to fight, fight, and fight for us to stay in the Newport were we were suppose to stay in the first place.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had some serious concerns over the reservation process for our stay at the Wyndham Long Wharf in Newport. We were traveling two guests who used wheelchairs (one of which who cannot walk). This was indicated on our reservation and I called three times prior to our arrival to try to get a confirmation that we would be assigned a wheelchair-accessible (ADA) room. Unfortunately when we arrived, none was available. The staff was quite helpful and tried to make it work but in the end, the room was not appropriate and in fact, dangerous for someone with limited mobility. My 21-year old son could not use the bathroom alone as the toilet was too short (and there were no grab bars). I am sure you can understand how this loss of independence is difficult for a 21-year old. In addition, he could not get into either of the two bedrooms due to the size of the doors (or placement of the furniture). He was able to sleep on the pull-out couch. Why is it not possible to reserve an accessible room in advance. Had we known for sure, we would have booked elsewhere. As a result, it was not a good experience for us at what seemed to be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rthurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.8 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
2.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Newport

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Address: 5 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1513 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $223 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing