We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great romantic b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayberry Inn of Newport
Ranked #19 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Bayberry Inn in February for a little valentines getaway. Stayed in the honeymoon room, very good size room with a bit of a grecian theme. jaccuzzi was a good size and everything was nice and clean. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was super nice. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Bayberry Inn of Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have been at this Inn twice now during February Winter Festival Weekend. We find this Inn to be a wonderful winter retreat. My husband slept and rested so comfortably...almost too well. I had to wake him both mornings. We both loved Wendy's breakfasts....the lemon bread was my favorite baked good. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was nice and roomy, warm and inviting. We will stay here again next year...same time...same place...maybe we will try a new room this time for a change of scenery.

Room Tip: Go to the Coddington Brewery and try their beer sampler! The prime rib there made my husband a happy...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This Inn is a fantastic balance of New England B&B character and hotel like amenities. The rooms are more polished and roomy than your average B&B and don't have that "staying in someones house" feel but you get the unique details, old world charm and personable aspects you dont find in a hotel, especially the chains in Newport. Location is great, and SPECTACULAR for the price. You could easily walk to anything you need and not needing to park on the street in Newport is a rarity.

Because the website is a bit outdated, I wanted to leave some specifics about our room. We stayed in the Newport room. It was nice and roomy, the picture on the site (and mine) doesn't do the space justice. The ceilings are very tall in the room (in the picture below with the fireplace, my chin comes about the height of the smallest vase there) and there are many storage places. It was missing very few details that weren't a bother to us, for example there aren't hangers with clips on them for something strapless and one of the blinds was missing a pole to adjust it, though I didn't ask after these either. There's a flat screen TV in the room with cable and the wireless worked well from our room, we streamed movies online without interruption. Because we stayed in the winter we especially noticed the room was very cozy and warm without any drafts (a huge plus for an older house), there were more than enough layers on the bed (top sheet, down comforter, another sheet, bed spread, and heavy blanket), and the gas fireplace worked wonderfully and provided extra warmth as well. The bathroom was very clean, had lots of extra towels, and the soaps and hair products were very nice unlike the cheap products you get in hotels. What the large pedestal sink lacked in counter space was made up with a very cute secretary desk with tons of room and the tub was well big enough for me to completely stretch my legs and be covered with only my head sticking out. The shower is a bit small but not unmanageable and just one of those very few compromises. Also, outside of our room was a fridge, coffee maker and electric tea pot which was a nice addition though they were never needed since breakfast and tea time provided all the caffination we needed.

Wendy, the innkeeper, was a joy and obviously accomplished in the kitchen. Both our breakfast's were very yummy and the selection of homemade breads, muffins, and other options in the breakfast room could fill in any gaps if you didn't happen to like a portion of the breakfast (though for us that wasn't close to an issue). Tea time also had delicious baked goods along with it served on the piano in the parlor with classical music playing in the background and funny enough a highlight of our days.

Growing up in Rhode Island we have frequented Newport our whole lives and this was by far my favorite trip and place to stay. This will not be our last stay for sure and we would recommend this to any friend looking for a quiet getaway close enough to all the activities Newport has to offer. A definite joy.

Room Tip: Newport room is very nice, if this is the least expensive I can only imagine what the other rooms ha...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moocowrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

So my husband and I spent one night at the Bayberry Inn in their Bayberry Suite which happens to be their 2-room suite which is located on the first floor separate from the rest of the rooms... When we first arrived we were greeted by Wendy, the innkeeper, she was so pleasant and welcomed us. Since it was our first time in the area we asked her a great seafood place and things to do. She gave her sole reccomendations and had a full map of the area which was very helpful. The inn is located on a side street so not in the middle of everything but literally around the corner. Which was great. The room itself was beautiful decorated, very clean and so inviting and relaxing. I loved that the jacuzzi was right in front of the bed and underneath the tv. There was a faux fireplace which added to the ambiance. The bathroom was definitely beautiful and the shower could of fit four people lol. We had a shower that had 8 jets but the water pressure wasnt good so it didnt have the anticipated feeling. But nothing I was upset about. It was so relaxing and private. Just what my husband and I were looking for. The bed was super comfy and we slept well. The breakfast was eggs Benedict was amazing and the breads and muffins were oh so amazing and so yummy. So we definitely want to return and will return. If you're looking for romantic and relaxing get the Bayberry Suite in the Bayberry Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdgorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Came for a quick weekend, and had an amazing time.
The room was great; fireplace is perfect when it’s 15 degrees outside.
Amazing homemade cookie and cupcakes upon arrival.
Will go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNiceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.4 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.9 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
1.6 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Newport

Been to Bayberry Inn of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn of Newport

Address: 20 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $279 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayberry Inn of Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Newport, this newly renovated Captain’s Home is the top pick for savvy travelers looking for intimacy and elegance. At the Bayberry we invite you to experience modern luxury with thoughtful touches in our newly appointed guest rooms all featuring; Comphy Co. supreme bedding and linens, bath amenities by Gilchrist & Soames, our chef prepared Signature Morning Harvest, and Pre-Arrival Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bayberry Inn of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry Inn Of Newport Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing