We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Newport Holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Newport Holiday stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Clearly the best breakfast of all B&B's! Very good rooms, lots of space. Welcoming staff. Not far from Thames and Newport's central tourist district. Very reasonably priced. Recommend highly; will do again.

Room Tip: Rm 202 most recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynnworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    60
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
292
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

As a Veterinarian, I can always leave my dogs at the office. However, with this trip, we elected to travel with our two dogs-one 18 lb hyper terrier and one mellow 60 lb dobie x. Jim and his son-in-law, Jeff were so accommodating to both us and our canine friends. The Inn was beautiful. The location was perfect. I was able to walk the dogs to the cliff walk 0.8 miles away and then continue with the cliff walk. My husband and I were able to walk into town during the day and enjoy walking to the wonderful restaurants on South Broadway while being able to leave the dogs in the comfortable room. (They even gave us a blanket to put over the bed for the dogs if they didn't stay on their own beds and jumped on ours!) We were able to walk to the Firehouse Theatre for improv on Friday night, which we thoroughly enjoy also.

Room Tip: I loved having the front room on the first floor so it was easy to walk the dogs outside, but someon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmo717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

You say you need a weekend away. You say the spark has gone out of your romance. Have I got a place for you. We decided to take a trip to Newport, RI, see the mansions, have some great seafood, a little romance too. We looked up B&Bs, and The Beech Tree Inn fit the bill. It was close to everything, had a jacuzzi tub, and boasted of the biggest breakfast of any Inn in Newport. We really didn't know what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. We pulled up to a beautiful house, and we were welcomed in by Jim, the Innkeeper, a very pleasant, amiable fellow, who instructed us to park in the back. The Inn is beautifully decorated, and quite modern with WIFI, flat screen television in the room, and large rooms with Kingsize beds, and fireplaces. Just what we needed! The Inn is walking distance, a good walk, but still walking distance from the wharf, and many good restaurants. We had a great night's sleep in a comfortable bed. The breakfast was just as advertised, just about anything someone could want. It was delicious. We will definitely be back for more sightseeing, whether or not we need a "romantic interlude".

Room Tip: If you have a pet, there is only one pet friendly room. We were in room 205, but any room in the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmand47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This one of the most welcoming and comfortable inns we have found as we travel with our sweet beagle up and down the East Coast. Indeed, dogs are not merely tolerated but are treated as the special guests they are. Many of our fellow guests had dogs with them, but you will encounter no doggie-odors or any other issues whatever in this regard. Breakfasts are made-to-order and are selected from a menu. The "famous french toast" is moist and tasty, and the egg dishes are clean and not greasy at all. Bacon is crisp.
Our room was luxurious and large , but it was apparently created some time ago as the countertops were cultured marble and the fixtures show age and worn finishes. That said, the amenities are five-star and the room is totally clean.
The inn-keepers are knowledgeable and helpful . They kind of fade away after the morning meal. They can be reached by telephone at all times if needed. This is a bed and breakfast, and not a full service hotel with concierge service. The level of service is just right for a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I absolutely LOVED the Beech Tree Inn. I would never even consider staying anywhere else in New Port. Our room was beautiful, bed and furniture was very new and clean. The service was above excellent, couldn't have been better. The breakfasts are amazing! The location is perfect. There wasn't anything I disliked about the Beech Tree. We were also allowed to bring our dogs who are a part of the family so that was a huge plus!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaaaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
572 reviews
1.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.6 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Newport

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): $295 - $572
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing