We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreamy experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreamy experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed in the Renaissance Room, alone unfortunately, since my husband was ill and didn't get to accompany me. Even alone, the room was a dreamy experience! The entire staff is so eager to please, and when you ask for anything - and I mean ANYTHING! - they are there to assist you, with a sweet smile. The staff is young and energetic. Whenever I ordered room service, two people quickly brought it up the second-floor stairs to me in just a very few minutes. On Friday night a young woman employee wearing 4-inch heels, accompanied by a young male employee so that she wouldn't trip on the stairs in her heels, delivered my meal from the Spicy Pear restaurant. I LOVED that and felt happy to be among smiling young people, particularly since my husband was not with me. The blue bedroom is stunningly decorated with 3 chandeliers, plus another chandelier in the bathroom. The gorgeous bathroom has a bidet, two golden sinks, sunken tub, 3-jet shower. Everything is so brightly lighted: in daytime because of the windows and huge balcony, and at nighttime because of the wonderful lamps and chandeliers. I plan to return to the Chanler as soon as I can! Such a gorgeous view across the water and green lawns. Would love to stay in the Louis XVI room next time, adjacent to the Renaissance Room, as it has a similar huge balcony with view of the water and grounds.

Room Tip: The 4 largest rooms in the Main Building are called Signature Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    62
    25
    14
    16
See reviews for
65
478
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milnathort Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Best hotel in Newport and one of the best small hotels anywhere. Position is perfect at the start of historic Cliff Walk. Rooms are spectacular. Restaurant is superb and try to book chefs table.
Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chanler for my birthday and every moment spent there was worth it. The first night we stayed in a French Provincial room and the last two the Wliiamsburg. Both rooms were tastefully decorated. They were definitely on the smaller side, however this just added to the overall cozy feel that I was looking for. The view from both rooms was amazing and I felt like I was out of the country. The background classical music playing was also a wonderful touch.

We had breakfast at the Spiced Pear restaurant and the food was delicious. What was even better was that it was included in the price of the room.

The staff was always courteous and helpful. They gave us helpful hints about local dining and even gave us a tour of one of the villas that were available. We had a minor problem with the showers in one of the rooms and this was promptly handled and what could not be repaired, a satisfactory explanation was promptly provided. The bar tending staff was efficient and friendly and drinks were always perfectly made. Maurice is a whiz.

The location allowed us to walk along the cliff walk as well as to local restaurants on Thames Street. The beach was also in viewing distance so that summer visitors should have easy access.

Worth every dime.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tobagogirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We visit our family in Rhode Island at least once a year and try to pick somewhere new each time. We chose Chanler on a whim. The hotel is breathtaking. It's architecture reminds me of an old house I grew up in. We enjoy touring the city and made a side trip to Warwick and Westerly. Narraganset Bay is a tresure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yankeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in the Peonies and Ivy room. The service from the start was very welcoming. Our room was beautiful and cozy. We loved the private entrance and garden. It was raining the evening we were there, so we weren't able to take advantage of the private hot tub, but would have loved to! The bathtub and shower in the room were huge. We were only able to stay one night, but we will definitely return. The location, at the start of Cliff Walk was perfect. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The Peonies and Ivy room had a partial ocean view, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lboog7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.6 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): $473 - $1,442
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing