We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
Ranked #6 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Newport”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

One of the best kept secrets in Newport. Our recent stay was simply the best! The pictures of our room posted on the net did not do it justice. Although it was a third floor room, the large seating area and views of Newport sunset were fantastic. The innkeeper (Jennifer) was over the top and made our stay extraordinary. Her personal touch and caring were second to none (not to mention her chocolate chip cookies and morning breakfasts. Hard to follow eggs florentine and eggs benedict along with an assortment of muffins, patries, fresh juice, and homemade granola! Truely one of those places that you feel sorry when it is time to leave. GREAT...GREAT....GREAT Experience. Thanks Again for making us feel so special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful; but the Perry room on the third floor has the best views of Newport and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerri20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
252
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our third year staying here and it was wonderful, EXCEPT a family decided to bring their 2 young children who woke up at 530am and made a ruckus rough-housing and wrestling, occasionally crying or whining, waking the whole house. I have kids and I love them... but this B&B is a romantic gem meant for couples who want to relax. There are many great family friendly places in Newport like the Wyndham, Marriott, Best Western or even the Chandler. As a family man myself I would never take my kids to a party house where 20-somethings might come home after the bars and party until the wee hours in the morning. I also wouldn't take them here because it is inappropriate.

With that said the house is still as wonderful as our first stay here three years ago. The beds and pillows are to die for, the jacuzzi fabulous and the artwork through the house is gorgeous. We missed Midge and her Macaroons...fyi she has left to find other opportunities. However the new Innkeeper Jennifer is an absolute doll and a true asset to the property. She is extremely knowledgeable of the area and made us reservations to rent bikes. She often went out of her way to make us feel comfortable as well as making a KILLER Eggs Benedict over a croissant! I've failed at poaching eggs myself and I asked her how she did it and she gladly taught me how while politely referencing "this is how Thomas Keller (French Laundry) prefers to do it". She even made the Macaroons Midge used to make as some other guests missed them, but I encouraged her to make her own take-away and create her own stamp on La Farge Perry. I am certain she will as she clearly knows her stuff and was pleasure to have as the Innkeeper. Changes happen everyday and this is a positive one!

This is certainly a wonderful gem and my wife and I will be back next year. Please, if you are a family...leave this gem romantic for couples and bring your kids under age 9 or 10 to a more family friendly hotel or B&B. Thanks!!

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor Commander Oliver room for the King Bed, but the Jacuzzi tub in the John Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights at the end of March. We had the Master Suite and it was a great room. Plenty of space, bed was comfortable, large jacuzzi tub and turn down service all made it a great weekend. The new innkeeper said that Midge took an opportunity elsewhere but we didn't feel let down at all by her absence. Jennifer was pleasant and made some wonderful breakfasts. She offered to make a dinner reservation for us and allowed us to bring our bags in earlier than check-in time so we could settle in. We will definitely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystgirl174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the John Perry room, the only room on the first floor. Not my first choice, but it was so over the top gorgeous, it didn't really matter where in the house it was. It had a really high canopy bed and humungous bathroom with a 2 person jacuzzi tub. The common rooms are absolutely gorgeous. We didn't have Midge (not sure where she was) but the people who were there were very nice and accommodating. No eggs benedict or macaroons like the other reviews on here, maybe only Midge makes those? It didn't really matter though, breakfast was delicious and wonderful, and we DID have chocolate cookies and tea, so no complaints here. Winter seems like a good time to stay here as I don't think I could afford it in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phototraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was our second visit to La Farge Perry and will return again. The inn is cozy and tastefully decorated. You can find a quite area to read and relax. The location is central to downtown Newport and we were able to walk to the waterfront and many fine restaurants. Midge, the inkeeper is very accomodating and cooks breakfast to order. She also provides tips on the local scene. She also has a dog who adds charm to the B&B.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. As such, check them out on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.9 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Property: La Farge Perry House
Address: 24 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2725
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): $318 - $788
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing