We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed! GREAT service- but TV didn't work”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed! GREAT service- but TV didn't work”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The place is beautiful! Small, but so comfortable! The sheets & shower are fabulous! The gas fireplace in the room is just perfect. The location can't be beat and the people that work there are GREAT!
The problems we had were: No working televison--- they have lots of technology, but it seems that they don't all work. The t.v. had a mind of its own. In the end we got so annoyed, even after the hotel engineer came up to try to fix it, we turned it off- well actually, it just shut itself off and it wouldn't come back on.
The thermostat also didn't work great-- it seems that it was set on auto & I couldn't change it no matter how many buttons I pushed.
I would stay there again in a heartbeat, but I would call ahead to be sure the tv & thermostat were in working order.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank manzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
84
318
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Being a lifelong visitor to Newport, I was very excited to hear that a new property had made it's way to town. Though I was unable to secure a room here during my latest visit in March, I made it a point to stop by and see the property anyway (I work in the travel industry). I was able to see a few different room types in the main building and couldn't have been more pleased. They're fabulous! Very sleek and contemporary, and I loved all the finishing touches. I am glad to see all the positive reviews about the service because at the time I visited, my one piece of advice for those managing the property: be mindful to secure staff who were well-trained and experienced in hospitality, for the hotel and the restaurant (great Restaurant Week menu!). I am happy to read that guests of the hotel have experienced polished service. With the prices the hotel commands (especially in season), guests should expect no less than perfection. Because I didn't actually stay at the hotel, I though it was only fair to reserve judgement on an "excellent" rating. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property and look forward to the time when I will be able to come and stay.

PS- I would definitely re-think the $35 parking fee, especially off-season. IMO, that's a bit steep for any property in Newport.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fourmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in a small harbor view suite on the second floor at reasonable off season rates. We loved the view, the bed, the fireplace, the bathroom, the location and the service could not have been better. This is a new, modern boutique hotel built out over a Newport wharf with every sort of high end gadget and accessory that you can think of. For example, each room comes with an IPad for surfing the Web or reading the NY Times. A class act.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I had a great stay down in Newport last weekend at 41 North. The hotel is beautiful and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. It is a very high end hotel with an amazing location right in the heart of downtown newport. The vibe is very hip with a lively bar scene both inside and outside. It has a very posh feel where you might feel like you're in Miami with a chic style to the lobby bar and the rooms. The rooms are decorated in a minimalist decour with great fireplace and all the latest tech gadgets including the an ipad and ipod in the room for you to use. It was a little cold so we ate inside but in the summer, the out door restaurant has to be the premier dining spot on the harbor. All the staff were very nice and Kat the GM was extremely friendly and made us feel like honored guests. We will definitely go back to Forty One North again when we're looking for a high end getaway....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just spent a 3 day weekend "off season" in April at this fabulous hotel! It was our 3rd stay in Newport, second time in April and this was absolutely, by far, the best hotel, location, service, and room. We got a great deal on the water view deluxe room through Snique Away, and were excited to experience this place. Upon arrival on a Thursday night, a valet greeted us. My husband asked if we had the option to park our own car, the valet said "yes" and indicated where we could park. After that, we never had to drive anywhere, because the location is so convenient to EVERYTHING in town, we just walked!
We were then greeted at the front door by a lovely woman who checked us in. The first thing that struck us was no "front desk", just a beautifully appointed writing desk where we were checked in by laptop and then escorted to our room. Once there, the gal took us through how to operate the tv, ipod, ipad, and indicated other amenties such as the wet bar. The room was so beautiful, and modern! From the furnishings, fireplace, seating area, view, tv, and giant bathroom with 2 person soaking tub and double shower, we were thrilled with how comfortable, beautiful and accomodating the room features were.
On the ipad were a list of the prices for spa services (available in room only) which we did not use. Wet bar prices, which were OUTRAGEOUS ($65 for a small bottle of Bacardi), but quite possibly de riguer, since we don't usually have a wet bar in the room! There were room service menus, a list of area restaurants and other suggested places to go, plus tv listings and free newspapers to read.
Every person we ran into in the hotel greeted us warmly, thanked us for being there, told us to have a good day/night, and even said "welcome back" when we came back from an excursion. The service is wonderful, you really felt that you were welcome and valued as a customer. The first night, we enjoyed a drink at the round bar in the main lobby. Wine list was quite limited, we were told they were gearing up for "the season", but enjoyed a espresso martini instead which was scrumptious. Bar prices were very high - $25 for 2 drinks with tip (more than we are accustomed to paying).
Pros: Hotel is beautiful, modern, comfortable. Amenities in the room and hotel abound, from in-room ipad/ipod, fireplace, soaking tub, to the lobby library with bar, books, pool table, tv, outdoors is also very comfortable with seating and firepits. Location is fantastic, service is amazing. Bed is comfortable, linens are beautiful, plus Malin-Goetz skincare, haircare products supplied.
Cons: In our room, we could not get the ipod to play "over the tv" as we were told it would, even after calling down and getting instructions. Our fireplace would not "stay on" whether the 30, 60, or 120 minute setting. We did not ask for assistance with this, which may have resolved the problem quickly, we just dealt with it. Prices are VERY high for food/drinks - the last night we had dinner at the hotel bar and it was spectacular tasting but very pricey. Room service coffee was $10 with tip which had exactly 2 cups in the pot sent up - no coffee in the lobby or a maker in the room - absolutely a must! My husband ran next door next 2 mornings for coffee at "Express Yourself", but on site is preferable. BEWARE of Valet parking charges!!!! Luckily, in our Snique Away confirmation, the hotel policies indicated that "valet parking is available" - so when we were charged $75 for 3 days of valet parking, we were able to get it waived because nothing indicated that there was an automatic parking charge - but this is the policy! The valet never touched our car, but apparently it is a daily parking rate. The head of guest services was very gracious about this charge an immediately removed it from our bill - which made us feel that this is absolutely a hotel that we would return to in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
1.5 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.5 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): $625 - $1,783
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing