We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Rosecliff
from USD 37.50
More Info
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
503
251
87
33
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
251
87
33
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great gatsby true lies flower show audio tour robert redford wedding venue rose garden party house beautiful mansion marble house grand ballroom ball room second floor newport mansions my favorite gilded age preservation society
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful Italian Classical type house with a lovely garden and great views. Whilst this house was owned by considerably wealthy people, they had a sense of style and class and understatement that we found appealing. The house was used in The Great Gatsby film in the 70's, sadly I do remember it!!
Well worth a visit just to compare with the tawdriness of The Bleakers.

Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The wedding reception was fantastic in this beautiful setting.Felt like we went back into a different time. A great memory.

Thank Tourguide030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Each mansion has it's own charm. The gardens, the artwork, the architecture. Be sure to include Rosecliff!

Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has been masterly restored. It is very beautiful although it would be nice to see a bit more of the house. It is understood though that events are still held at the house like weddings so it is sort of a working house. Anyway, it still pretty and the views are awesome!

Thank 791markv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to Rosecliff over and over! The audio tour allows for listening to more extensive detail in each room, so I try to listen to different details each time. This is by far my favorite of the Newport mansions, not just for its beauty inside and on the grounds, but for its very interesting story. I recommend visiting all the Newport mansions that are managed by The Preservation Society. They provide an interesting look at the history of Newport and of the socialites at the various times in the mansions’ histories.

Thank Lu-AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at Rosecliff at 3:30 p.m. The last audio tour could be started at 4 p.m. at this time of the year. We were told that it was a 30-minute audio tour. However, since we listened to many of the optional recordings, we spent an entire hour at this mansion. It was very uncrowded at this time of day on a Monday at the end of September. We were thankful for the chairs that allowed for sitting as my legs were a bit tired after already having visited The Breakers, Marble House and Fort Adams. It was nice to be able to sit and listen to the extra audio segments. Prior to our trip to Newport, we purchased online Dual Standard Membership for The Preservation Society of Newport County. Our membership allowed us entrance into all The Preservation Society mansions and discounts on tours and merchandise. We very much enjoyed our visit to Rosecliff.

Thank TNKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A tour of this mansion will take you back to an era when arts, beauty and grace were merged. The grounds and the building are keep in excellent conditions. You feel as though you were back 100 years in time. Well worth the visit.

Thank wxman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed the audio tour although there was no comparison to Marble house or the breakers. However, it is a more versatile building. We enjoyed the aesthetic movement exhibit on the second floor and returned in the evening for a special program in the ballroom.

1  Thank Fadipadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful house! Certainly takes you back to an age gone by. Newer than a couple of the other Mansions and used in the film ‘The Great Gatsby’, and you can see why with the opulence inside, as well as the ballroom used in ‘True Lies’.
Lovely to see it used today as a Wedding Venue, I’m sure many beautiful brides look amazing on the main staircase.

1  Thank pashem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rosecliff was a beautiful stop on a recent trip to Newport. There was plenty of free parking and the crowds were at a minimum. The exterior of Rosecliff is stunning & after just having visited the Breakers we were expecting the same level of opulence. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed. There is an audio self-guided tour that you are offered at the entrance. Unlike the Breakers & the Marble House, there weren’t as many markers along the route, so you had to really be paying attention or else you could easily make a wrong turn. On the second floor there was an art/fashion exhibit with no explanation or docent that was nearby to explain anything. Also, Rosecliff hosts weddings, so the “Bride’s changing area” was curious. It didn’t seem to be well taken care of.
The house was quick to navigate through, it took about 30-45 minutes to tour. If you have the membership pass or the 5 house pass Rosecliff is a beautiful stop, but if you only have time for 1 or 2 mansions, bypass Rosecliff for the Breakers or Marble House.

Thank ImAlwaysAdventuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews