We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
363 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel was only a few steps from a busy part of Thames Street, but far enough off the beaten path to feel quiet and secluded. The staff went out of their way to help us with our plans, both showing us how to get places on maps and helping us select restaurants and activities. The newly renovated rooms were clean and spacious and the continental breakfast was nice, although their cappuccino machine was a bit confusing to use! Overall, it was an excellent experience.

Room Tip: The junior king suite had a common area with foldout couch and a separate bedroom. Very nice and rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eluper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    161
    68
    31
    17
See reviews for
89
312
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a pleasant long winter weekend at the Mill Street Inn. The Inn is in an excellent location that is within walking distance to the waterfront/shops/restaurants. Unfortunately, it was SO COLD while we were down there that we had to limit walking outdoors...but it's surely fabulous in the summer. There is free parking in a garage under the hotel which is fantastic, though it may be tough to navigate in there with a big vehicle. We got a very reasonable deal through Jetsetter and were welcomed to a spacious king room with brick walls and high ceilings. There were signs of a little wear (bedroom door wouldn't shut completely due to warping), but there was nothing to make a fuss about. The bedroom and living room are separated and both have good sized flat screen TVs. The bed is SO comfortable that we barely even utilized the living room! The bathroom had a rainfall shower head on one side and a detachable head on the other. The Aveda toiletries were a very nice touch! This hotel also has the best continental breakfast that I've ever seen; fresh blueberries, strawberries, chobani yogurt, granola, dried fruits, nuts, jams, bread...it was excellent! As others have mentioned, the staff at the front desk are so pleasant and eager to help.

The only downside is that there is no pool or gym, but aside from that I have nothing but praise for the Mill Street Inn. I would certainly recommend this hotel and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissZaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I took my wife to Newport to celebrate a personal milestone. The Mill Street Inn could not have been a better place to stay. The package deal I booked included an amazing amount of extras. From the moment we checked in, the staff were extremely helpful, offering suggestions for restaurants and sites, offering to book reservations as needed. We stayed in a townhouse suite, which was lovely. The room was warm (even after we turned the heat off), but we were able to sit on the patio to enjoy some cool air and pleasant views. The breakfast offered at the Mill Inn is top notch, particularly for people who enjoy granola and yogurt.

I do not know about in-season pricing, but I would recommend this off season package to anyone desiring a nice getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_BP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The Mill Street Inn was one of the nicer boutique hotels (bed & breakfast) in Newport. It was located 2 blocks from the shopping/restaurant area. The rooms are very large and had a nice sitting area. The lighting over the sitting area was a bit too dim. Bathrooms were small but well equiped. Front desk was very helpful with directions, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spaintravelerAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

The Mill Street Inn is nothing all that special. Good continental breakfast and good location. The rooms are a bit lackluster.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelnowNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.2 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.4 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): $200 - $738
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing