We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
348
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
348
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front porch grover cleveland art nouveau wonderful hosts millard fillmore place to stay needle shower hewitt suite homemade scones buffalo history trunk room heated bathroom floors thick cut bacon beautiful mansion breakfast was delicious labor of love parfait
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Inn Buffalo is one of the best places myself and my husband have ever stayed. It is a beautifully lovingly renovated old house. The food is fantastic and service out of this world. Nothing is too much trouble. Within walking distance of Elmwood Village which has marvellous restaurants and shops. Woukd definitelt stay there again.

Room tip: All rooms are fantastic.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flaviabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We stayed at the inn for a weekend trip. The inn is currently under restoration, which we found added to the feel the of place. We stayed in the Frederick Law Olmsted suite. The beds were very comfortable and the suites clean and very beautifully done. Upon arrival, the owners greeted us and were very pleasant. In the evening they provided water and pop. My favourite part was breakfast, Ellen made a delicious apple german pancakes and was very helpful to the amateur historian in my group regarding the house.

I can't wait to visit in the summer to see how the restoration is progressing and use there stunning outdoor porch.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

From the spacious front porch, through the main floor's rooms (eg. library, den and dining room) and the upper two floors of guest suites, this beautiful mansion in an excellent location continues its journey toward full restoration to its former grandeur and glory (it was the home of local industrialist, HH Hewitt) by its two gregarious, caring innkeepers - Ellen and Joe. The restoration project is clearly their passion, as are their efforts at making their guests have a very relaxing and comfortable experience. And make sure your itinerary allows you the time to enjoy the sumptuous breakfast!

Room tip: If you want to experience the "more than a century old" water spray shower nozzle, book the HH Hewitt Suite!
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

My husband and I visited the Inn at Buffalo last weekend and had the most amazing stay. The inn is so beautiful and charming. When we arrived, we were greeted by Ellen, one of the owners. She was so gracious and accommodating. We brought a bottle of champagne which she put in our room on ice with glasses as we explored the inn. We stayed in the Master Suite which was wonderful. It has a fireplace and one of the only original bathrooms at the Inn. The bathroom has exquisite tile work, a claw foot bath and a "needle" Shower, all of which perfectly maintained. The needle shower is an old fashioned stand alone shower that has a traditional shower head from the top but also a spray from the sides, which you can chose to utilize if you so wish. All the other rooms have gorgeous modern baths with heated floors and subway tiles. That night we walked around Elmwood Village, which has so many restaurants and bars to enjoy. The next morning, both owners Joe and Ellen hosted us for a delicious breakfast in the dining room. The Inn is a can't miss place - whether you're from the Buffalo area, like we are, or visiting Buffalo from out of town. The Inn to us symbolizes everything wonderful about Buffalo - the historic charm and the elegance of old world Buffalo coupled with the friendliness and approach-ability of the Buffalonian owners and hosts. Ellen and Joe - thank you!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gtowner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We stayed with Ellen and Joe on three different occasions thus far; we love staying here, it is our home away from home… please forgive that this review is a compilation of those stays.

First of all, found the listing for InnBuffalo on Trip Advisor because this is always where we start our travel research. I don’t care if it is a restaurant in a town or city that we happen to be in, the Trip Advisor App is fired up and ready to go! We booked over the phone and Ellen was more than gracious, answering my way too many questions about the rooms, amenities, how far from our daughter’s college…. I thought, when she meets me, she’s going to throw something at me. (She didn’t, I got a big hug instead). Our first stay was end of June, 2015 for 2 nights. Our daughter was there for freshman orientation for college (D’Youville) and we needed a place close, but away so she could have her space.

The house is HUGE, has a great historical story, is a true work in progress and is lovingly being restored. I believe it had opened in April of 2015. This section of Lafayette Street is filled with similar beautifully appointed and restored homes, the neighborhood is very safe, inviting and walk-able; super close to Elmwood where you will find great restaurants, small shops and groceries! The color palate in the guest rooms is warm and comfortable; the beds are soft with excellent sheets and covers, antiques, beautifully arranged bathrooms, fluffy towels and great soap amenities. Remember you are in a large older home, you will hear people walking in the rooms above or outside your door, you may hear a toilet flush, but get over it because the ambiance and comfort of the space that has been carved out for you will amaze. The common areas are older and in various stages of restoration, but this only adds to the charm and you can get a sense of the sheer brevity of the task the owners have faced in the restoration of this beautiful home.

We have stayed in the Grover Cleveland room which has the coolest glass-enclosed shower that is kind of built out into the room; offers quite the view… Nice comfy bed, good air-conditioning, but we did hear feet upstairs. Breakfast was top-notch; strong coffee, good selection of teas, yogurt, fruit, granola and Eggs Benedict or stuffed French toast- Joe is an excellent cook! He also is a walking GPS, a ride home when maybe you have had too many “whatever’s” and the guy that can call and get you a reservation in a great restaurant.…. The conversations and other people who are traveling is what make a B&B so much better than a cookie-cutter hotel. Ellen went out of her way to find us a towel to give to our daughter at college because she forgot to bring hers, and we also had items shipped to the Inn so we would not have to bring them when we moved her into school end of August. How kind is that??

Second stay was when we brought our daughter to college. We stayed in Art Nouveau East. This room is on the top floor and it is just lovely. Ellen placed a queen-sized blow-up mattress in the room for our daughter, complete with all the great linens! She was extremely comfortable! In the evening, it was so beautiful and cozy on the front porch. Joe made a big pitcher of Mojitos and many guests just sat and talked about their experiences and travels of the day… I just know people walk or drive by and think… I wish I was staying there. We are happy that we were!

Our most recent stay was in October, and we stayed in the Olmsted Suite which has two double beds, heated bathroom floors and is located right at the top of the stairs. Although a great room, if you are a light sleeper, choose another location. Anyone that comes up the stairs will walk right by the room, and it is not easy to ignore. Yes, a beautifully appointed room with ample space and great furnishings; just choose wisely or bring earplugs.

Things we did… we are foodies.....

Eat at the Blue Monk on Elmwood. GREAT selection of beer and the Duck Poutine and Mussel bowls are to die for and you can walk there from the Inn. Big Ditch Brewing Company on Huron Street; awesome burgers! Hutches is also another great place to eat. Hey, have Joe call and make you a reservation and I bet he will even drive you there… Bring your passport and take a ride up to Niagara on the Lake. It is horribly expensive to even buy a pack of tic tacks, but it is a beautiful area; just pack your cooler full of food and drink before you leave. Of course there is Niagara Falls which should not be missed. The Duty Free shop is located on both sides of the Peace Bridge, so happy shopping.

We will always stay with Ellen and Joe (and Chloe) at the InnBuffalo… I am happy that our daughter will be in Buffalo for another 3-4 years; hope they won’t get sick of us!

Room tip: This is an older home, bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Noveau East and West are pretty quiet.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank number2nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews