We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, below average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, below average service”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Returned to this suite hotel for 2 nights on business. Rooms are spacious and clean. What lacks in this hotel is service or any feeling of making a guest feel welcome. Not greeted by name or as a returning guest; name was horribly misspelled on Honors amenity package, which did not have any of my listed choices for snacks; checked in at almost 11pm and asked for a copy of USA Today, which is given away and was told it would cost .75; desk clerk could care less; entered a totally dark hotel room with few hangers in closet and no laundry bag. And on top of that, mandatory valet parking for $15 per day when all other hotels in Buffalo have free parking. Breakfast was the only reason this hotel would be better than Hampton Inn next door.

Room Tip: The large Executive floor suite was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jett137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    312
    82
    44
    30
See reviews for
459
240
37
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Two comments he made towards my husband and i after inquiring about the rates of hotel. 1) informing us that in order to get a room we would need a credit card. Our response "yes, we are aware of that. After ignoring his ignorant comment, I proceed to ask a question by (word of mouth) on how great their breakfast were. He replied "that is correct" "I just need to add, when booking the room their has to be money on the card" so I ask him "do you ask everyone that question he replied to us yes. I couldn't believe what I was hearing, I'm thinking, so its true, everything that looks good isn't good! In that case after being offended by his comment towards us we decided to thank him and we left. Charlie encouraged us to plan our Convention of 150 people, somewhere else where we were we'll pleased! Thank you Embassy Suite on behave of Charlie. Word of mouth travels fast! Sincerely never under estimate the appearance of how people look, especially when they are dressed down. We will check in again to make sure this matter is handled.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Luxuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The rooms (suites) are very large, very clean and very confortable with microwave and a kitchinette. Very good and welcoming front desk service. Very well arranged complimentary breakfast. Very much recommendable for the price and services.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janathar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were in Buffalo to visit a family member in a local hospital and to do some sightseeing at Niagara Falls with the kids. This hotel had a perfect downtown location that was near some trendy resturants. The room was large enough for a family and very clean. The kids loved swimming in the pool. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville,Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Embassy for 2 nights just after new years eve to watch a hockey game at the newly named First Niagara Center. We checked in the day before the game and had a great time at the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic with a custom-made omelette station plus other drink stations, ready made scrambled eggs, fries etc. Food was very fresh and the service at the "breakfast room" was very friendly. The cleanliness of the hotel was also impressive including the pool area, room hallways and entrance. The rooms are very large and the hallways are even bigger. I guess the hotel only uses the first 7-8 floors and the remaining upper floors are for condos and stuff.

Another pleasant surprise is that the visiting hockey team (Edmonton Oilers in our case) also stayed at this hotel so we got to see our players outside of uniform also. I understand that the NHL has a contract with this hotel so all visiting teams stay here.

We attended the nightly manager social one night and it was also good with deep fried finger foods plus drinks; alcoholic and others.

I highly recommend this hotel and the only draw back was the $15/night parking fee they charge.

Room Tip: All rooms on upper floors have great views of BUffalo or the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.7 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
1.6 km away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.4 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
1.3 km away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Address: 200 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#3 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price range (per night): $200 - $430
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Buffalo is a new property built to green construction standards in the heart of downtown Buffalo. While staying with our hotel you'll be treated to cityscape views, complimentary wireless Internet, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and a nightly manager's reception featuring complimentary appetizers and cocktails.Each spacious 2-room suites feature separates living rooms and bedrooms. Each bed is equipped with 250-thread count Sleep Essentials™ bedding, designer furniture including a pull out sofa, plush armchairs, work desk, and ottomans, two flat-screen televisions, two telephones, a mini-fridge, wet bar, microwave and more. On-site you'll find two restaurants that offer a variety of meal options. Della Terra is a beautiful two story, glass enclosed restaurant featuring northern Italian cuisine. The Avant Beanery is our lobby espresso bar that features Starbucks® coffees and serves pre-made salads, sandwiches and pastries. We also provide room service for those who want to enjoy a delicious meal in the privacy of their room.Our hotel is also perfect for business meetings and wedding receptions. Our contemporary facilities include seven meeting rooms with a combined total of 6,034 square feet. A complimentary 24-hour business center is perfect for those last minute business needs. We are happy to help plan your business gatherings; events, weddings and we offer full catering and audio/visual support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Buffalo Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing