We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

This hostel could be great.

However it is not. The rude welcome from the boy at reception was quite something else. As were the beds, thin, thin pillows, with poor, poor mattresses, had springs sticking into me all night. The bathrooms were none too nice either.

The common room was lovely and comfortable. However what will stick in my mind from this visit is the poor, poor customer service, and a few poor, poor nights sleep!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    30
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I had 16 people in my dorm - snoring was bad, but the quality of the bed was worst. I found one position that I could lie in, were only 2 bed springs were digging into me. The guy on reception (Which isn't 24 hrs) was bored and disinterested. he gave us directions to things that weren't there (At one point I was in hobo ville) and gave us misinformation on buses and travelling times.

It's 2 stars as its the cheapest place to stay in Buffalo - the hostel is as bad as the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcowatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Expect dirty carpets in the rooms, mattresses which let you feel every spring, dirty bedframes and old napkins under the pillow. You can't stop the air-conditioning and will have a office-like atmosphere in the corridors. We were really sorry for the money and were glad to leave again. The only positive thing was the staff, that was trying its best in this run-down hostel.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Klaus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

I travelled to Buffalo for the Niagara Falls and for that this place is great. Clean nice rooms, the front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The showerfacilities were also very clean and nice. There was no breakfast included, but there's a couple of food stores on the Main street. There's a kitchen in the hostel, so you'll be fine. Good value for your money (25$, including tax). So stay here, don't waste your money on some better hotels.

Otherwise, the city it self is scary and nothing happens. Especially the downtown, I didn't like it too much. The Niagara falls were nice though!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Hostel is clean and well-maintained but the dorm got SO hot. It must have been over 30 degrees C in there. It was unbearable, i was tossing up whether to go and sleep in the car. Also, the noise from the nightlife was constant until early hours of the morning - but it is downtown, so you've got to expect that.
Otherwise it's a pretty decent place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_nicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
1.2 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
1.1 km away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Property: Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Address: 667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buffalo
Price range (per night): $44 - $134
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to backpackers, travelers and out-of-towners, domestic and abroad, this independent & non-profit hostel is in the heart of downtown Buffalo's Theater District. We offer a communal homestead with our fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounges, laundry facilities, free wifi, book exchange, free store, complementary bag storage and a movie room with the finest selection of VHS tapes, oh and a ping pong table! Our local Buffalonian staff love this city and will gladly help you get from point A to point B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Buffalo-Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing