We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Pluto was discovered in this little observatory.

A nice, quiet little piece of history happened here. The mechanical equipment is maintained and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
magicdragon007
,
Crossroads, New Mexico
Beautiful Views!

We visited this observatory during the evening and had a wonderful time! they have really... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Traveler333777
,
Avondale, Arizona
via mobile
Read all 1,768 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Flagstaff
from USD 25.00
More Info
from USD 12.00
More Info
from USD 69.26
More Info
from USD 170.27
More Info
Reviews (1,768)
Filter reviews
1,768 results
Traveller rating
1,118
447
139
49
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,118
447
139
49
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solar system pluto tour discovered pluto clear night big telescope telescope viewing night viewing star clusters main telescope mars hill gift shop great place to visit downtown flagstaff worth the trip visitor center grand canyon planets
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 1,768 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Go at night! It’s a little crowded and if it’s cold, bring a winter coat with a hood. Saw lots of people dancing around to keep warm lol. It gets windy up there and the lines can be long. But it’s sooo worth the wait! We went with our 17 year old daughter who is an Astronomy buff and she totally enjoyed it. ( oh and ignore the crabby guy in the gift shop).

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Wildflower51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We are family that appreciates the beautiful evening skies, but we don't have a deep knowledge of astronomy. The Lowell Observatory has had a large impact on our modern knowledge of the solar system. The equipment that has been there for over 100 years and the video explaining what new equipment that is in process of being built, is very impressive.
We did the guided tours and they were informative, but too long for my elementary age child. The one going in to high school was most captivated.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank EHHTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Went during the day for the tours and to look at the grounds, then back after dark to view the moon, through the Mars telescope, same as the Apollo astronauts did in the 60's!
They had another telescopes set up to view the moon and other parts of space, but even better than the viewing on a clear night was the expertise of the staff to explain what you were viewing, the history of the Observetory and the people who were so important to its history.
A must visit while you are in Flagstaff.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Train13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The kids loved looking through the telescopes, of course we did to. To look through the same telescopes as our astronauts and some of the greatest explorers of space is really awesome!

This place could be a lot more fun if themes would work with their staff. They are educated and very knowledgeable, but some of them need to work on public specking. Science, space, and math can be FUN :)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Wy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We spent 4 hours here today and this evening. Fantastic and informative staff. In the evening, all the telescope came out and we saw some incredible things we would never have seen. We did the science presentation and the presenter was enthusiastic and wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank WoodyRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews