We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #117 of 319 Restaurants in Scranton
Cuisines: American
Description: FOR GOODNESS STEAK! Welcome steak lovers. Perkins® is your place for your favorite meal. Steak! Choose from classics like Steak Medallions & Shrimp or try a new creation like our A.1. ® Steakhouse Benedict Omelet. If you're in the mood for a little sizzle, there's always our Steak & Cheese or Steak & Peppers Skillet. Have your steak and eat it, too. Only at Perkins®.
Restaurant details
Description: FOR GOODNESS STEAK! Welcome steak lovers. Perkins® is your place for your favorite meal. Steak! Choose from classics like Steak Medallions & Shrimp or try a new creation like our A.1. ® Steakhouse Benedict Omelet. If you're in the mood for a little sizzle, there's always our Steak & Cheese or Steak & Peppers Skillet. Have your steak and eat it, too. Only at Perkins®.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

After checking into our nearby hotel at around 7 p.m., we went to Perkins to have breakfast for dinner. The only others at the restaurant were four or five people who were together.

Both of us had the most terrible meal that we could recall in many years. The service was as terrible as the food.

All of the food was as cold as if it had been taken out of the refrigerator immediately before it was served to us. The over-medium eggs, as well as the poached eggs, were overdone. The side of toast, which cost $1.99 for two slices, tasted stale. The pancakes looked and tasted burned.

The server was unpleasant and acted as though we had awoken her from a nap. She forgot to bring part of one of the orders. She placed the check on our table without asking us how was the food or if we wanted anything else.

When I went to pay the bill, the manager asked about our experience, so I told her. Despite her apparent sincere attempt to rectify the matter, we will not return to that Perkins location.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ReC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Perkins has a nice atmosphere, very busy restaurant and the food and service are very good and the meals are plentiful. I like you can get breakfast all day or choose a Fish dinner with shrimp all at a reasonable price. I never had a meal I didn't like at Perkins. They also have great desserts, pies and muffins to take out, Yum!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carrie638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Never again will I order take out from here. It seemed impossible for them to get my order right. Ordering 2 things and simply stated for both that I wanted to sub out (pork) for turkey sausage. Standing and waiting an extra 20 minutes for them to fix the mistakes on each of my meals. A simple order turned into a huge project for this place. Clearly take out isn’t something that they can handle.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

...just like any other Perkins. The food is good, not great or gourmet. It's a Perkins. The menu is the same as every other Perkins (because, it's a Perkins). They serve a good breakfast and decent lunch. It has reasonable prices and a recognizable interior (if you've been in any other Perkins). It is totally average and expectable,except for one thing...Carmen. Carmen was our server, and Carmen waited on us like we were royalty. she was pleasant, friendly, prompt, attentive, and just plain nice. She made this Perkins stand out just by her presence. No, we don't know Carmen and she didn't give us a quarter for kind words. She just made our day.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1-mmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Perkins is a reliable eatery especially good for breakfast. Easy on and off from I-81. Quick service at cheap prices. We both were full for $10 and change. We always tip well at Perkins...waitstaff works hard.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing