We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not-to-be-Believed Experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baranof Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Reviewed 28 September 2014

What a wonderful, magical experience getaway destination! (And not just for the ultimate Alaskan fishing vacation.) Full-service staff and accommodations - they'll think of everything you might need even if you don't - and second-to-none hospitality. You're one of the family at Baranof! Excellent food, great company, world-class staff and no end to the offering of daily activities: Whale and bear watching, beach combing, kayaking, salmon and halibut fishing, massage therapy, hiking, hot springs and fly fishing are just the beginning. Mike, Sally and their dedicated team are simply the best and the Baranof experience is one you'll remember forever. Can't wait to go back next year for the fourth time of many times to come!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are charming! I've stayed in three different ones so far and have loved them a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Baranof Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you wish to experience the Alaska wilderness in a more than comfortable environment, this is the place. It was hard to believe that our private well-appointed cabin was surrounded by miles of wilderness that provided new adventures each day: whales breaching, bears feeding, eagles fishing...just to name a few. Everything about the experience is wonderful but their greatest asset is their staff: The owners, Mike and Sally, work hard to make you feel at home. The guides and the resort staff are friendly, knowledgeable and kind. They constantly are looking for ways to make your experience more comfortable; truly service with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Texas972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

More than memorable; it's magical! A dedicated staff of trained professionals creates a larger-than-
life adventure in good living. The staff is always on the alert for problems to solve, but more importantly, for service opportunities. A national-class setting; comfortable, artfully accessorized cabins; restaurant-quality food and beverage; and fabulous fishing. Sea lions and whales and bears, oh my! Looking forward to my sixth (and seventh) visits next summer.

Room Tip: The cabins are equally comfortable and charming.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

One of the few vacations I have been on that far exceeded my expectations. My wife and I had a great time. Mike and Sally do it right and instill the right attitude in all their fine staff. We have had the opportunity to fish in numerous places and Baranof was one of the best. The other activities were also fantastic. We have already booked a return trip for 2016.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Baranof Wilderness Lodge provides a first class food and accommodations experience on the doorstep of nature. The entire staff from the cook to the fishing guides are excellent in their service, knowledge and attitude. Daily adventures are wide in variety, customized to the guest and professionally delivered. A fund time is assured for all from dawn to dusk (about 20 hours per day in the Alaska summer)! New friends are made and memories of the day are sealed each evening at the lodge porch happy hour. The perfect college graduation gift to my son (and me).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
31.0 km away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
30.6 km away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
30.8 km away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
28.9 km away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
30.6 km away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baranof Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baranof Wilderness Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 2187, Sitka, AK 99835-2187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all inclusive Wilderness lodge nested 20 air miles remote of Sitka Alaska accessible only by boat or float plane. Uniquely situated in a rugged realm of cascading waterfalls, sparkling alpine lakes, snow capped peaks and lush ancient forest. Come explore, adventure or fish our countless protected bays, inlets, and streams teeming with both fresh and saltwater fish and wildlife. Here you will find superior accommodations of our comfortable & spacious guest cabins and Main Lodge. Elegantly furnished pine-paneled cabins feature hot showers, baseboard heaters, private bathroom, and 24 hour electricity from our own hydropower plant. From the peaceful comfort of your cabin you will enjoy panoramic views of the bay and its marine life in the shadow of majestic mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing