We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Cardigan place that was great! Pretty...”
Remote mountain cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Remote mountain cabin
Warm fireplace, open living areas, modern HD TV Flowing space between living and kitchen areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Remote mountain cabin
Warm fireplace, open living areas, modern HD TV
Flowing space between living and kitchen areas
Fully furnished kitchen
Fully furnished kitchen
Newly installed (May 2015) hot tub large enough for 5 or 6 adults
Clean warm water, waiting for you to jump in!
Charcoal park-style grill
Unlimited dried/stacked firewood just a few yards from the cabin at $10/night
Large campfire pit with beautiful mountain views behind
Queen bed in master BR
Bunkbed in 2nd bedroom
Fully furnished, clean bathroom
DVD movie library
Board games
Washer/dryer
Reading areas
Acres of private land around cabin with scenic driveways
Quiet outdoor sitting areas
Extra outdoor chairs provided
This overlook, as well as 2 others, are on the drive up. I took this from my car
This is another pic from my car on the drive to the cabin. 3,000 ft. elevation
Winter view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tammy B
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Another Cardigan place that was great! Pretty fall colors”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was another property we were at in addition to the Westcott lodge. This High Ridge is very secluded and pretty. It's a long drive between here and the Westcott lodge so don't even think about going back and forth a lot. but super fun and pretty

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Shenandoah Mountains Cabin”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Mountain getaway for me and friends. We wanted secluded mountain cabin. Rustic but not prehistoric and close to hiking trails and natural beauty of the Virginia mountains. That's just what we got. The cabin was very secluded but accessible. The host (Paul) was very easy to communicate with and accommodating (at first was going to bring pets b/c that's allowed for a fee, he discounted my fee b/c the dogs are miniatures, etc). All very easy to handle. The cabin was in very good shape, clean and with all the necessities including cable. No WIFI (which was fine). Board games and a huge DVD collection in case it rained. The hot tub was the best attraction. It was wonderful to be in the hot tube with it a nippy 50 degrees outside. Delightful. Only negative was the master bed was quite flat and uncomfortable making sleep difficult. I think a new mattress or at least an extra padded mattress cover could solve that. We spent the whole of one day hiking in the shenandoah to the upper falls of WhiteOak Canyon - you must do it! We would likely stay there again. Matt

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: master bedroom mattress
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thanks, Matthew, for your kind words and telling others about your time! We'll check out that mattress - it may be time for a new one. In your opinion, are there any other things can we do in the future to make High Ridge get a 5 star from you? We love feedback from guests. Call or email at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Uniquely relaxing”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Not my first time to the Shenandoahs but first time up in a crows nest like this. Lot of attention taken by management to make it warm. Hard to get used to the quiet the first night like being in the woods on your own in a tent. Beautiful night sky with stars I hadn't seen in a few years. Hot tub worked well, which isn't always the case we've found, and free wood was a big +

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald T
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Well appointed and relaxing”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything was exactly as promised, amenities just where they said they'd be, clean, comfortable and in beautiful area of the mountains. Off the beaten path a tad but thats to its credit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawan S
Springfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Just awesome...”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Nice secluded location..worth spending a vacation...Also one of the best cabins I rented so far with all amenities....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of cabin
Liked least: Hot water tub not working, no internet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing