We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas in the mountains”
other traveller has booked this property
1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
theatre style recliners in living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
theatre style recliners in living room
Fully equipped kitchen
view of Shenandoah River across a secondary roadway from cabin
Laguna Bay Spa for 6...waterfall with lights at 1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
view of Kennedy Peak's from side deck of our cabin...hiking trail in G W National Forest ---8 min
waterfront acess at our #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp - walking distance from cabin
back deck
Electric fireplace in Master Bedroom
deck at River Kamp that is walking distance from cabin
back deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas in the mountains”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family will never forget our Christmas at Rock Tavern! It was clean, quiet,uniquely laid out & decorated. Annette was a delight to see upon our arrival. She had fresh flowers, poinsettias, & a beautifully decorated Christmas tree awaiting our stay. We took in the caverns & fished & hiked during our time there . The hot tub & wrap around porch were an added plus to our stay!! Thanks Annette for opening up your home to us!!!We will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review! I am just thrilled you all had a delightful Christmas in the mountains! Happy New Year! We hope to see you in 2017 and years to come...
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARY ANN...
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Quite What I Expected”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Rock Tavern Cabin is located on a well traveled street, which I should have realized since it was a originally a tavern. So there is road noise. The river is across the street with a view limited by another campground. River access for the cabin is a short walk to the Rock Tavern Campground and is shared with the campground Fishing access there is limited. We found other, more quiet fishing spots. The cabin itself is very nice. Well appointed, immaculate, with a well stocked kitchen. I like the option of gas/charcoal grills. It was fun cooking burgers over a charcoal fire. Please note, there are no doors to the bedrooms. Heavy tab curtains serve as closure. There are high steps to enter the bedroom areas, a little difficult if you have mobility issues. We could not get the DVD player to work for more than a few minutes, so movie night was cancelled. Rock Tavern Cabin would be a great base camp for hiking and sight seeing. Not so much for relaxing and watching the river go by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of cabin
Liked least: Uncomfortable beds, limited river access, road noise, no bedroom doors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. I would like to take this time to let future quests know that yes - originally the 1947 Rock Tavern Retreat was owned and operated years ago by my Uncle Abe and Aunt Lizzie as "Rock Tavern" they had turkey shoots, sold arrowheads, traded hides and furs, sold country hams, etc. ..so when the opportunity came about I could have this piece of history back in our family - I proudly made the purchase. Actually was originally a 200 plus acre farm - across the road from cabin is individual lots that some folks bring their rv's and use as their second homes in the summer ---isn't actually a campground... To the left of the cabin (walking distance) is our #1Rock Tavern River Kamp which our guests at cabin have full use of as well---this is waterfront ---we offer yurts and tent sites there. You as guests of cabin can go fishing, kayaking, tubing etc., from our kamp (no guarantee you'll catch a fish). Depending on time of year you visit us - In August -- the DoahFest and ShenSara festivals are held within 10 min of kamp ---so during these times our secondary road is traveled more- which at our cabin - the wrap around deck offers the hot tub on back side for the most privacy as you can sit and watch the deer come to the field with their young to graze and see a flock of turkeys most every evening in the spring.
Should a potential guest need a handicap cabin - please visit www.massanuttensprings.com and book our 1850's Massanutten Springs Retreat as this cabin has been restored and customed built for handicap accessibility. Our 1947 Rock Tavern Cabin does have a step up at each bedroom entrance as you are going from the orginal stone tavern to additions built onto tavern...the door openings are smaller than standard doors which is why I opted for really Heavy Curtains opposed to cutting out the stone that Uncle Abe laid by hand. This is actually (in my opinion) was makes our cabin unique....the bedrooms are across from each other with living room between them and each bedroom suite offers its own full bathroom with solid door closures.
I remember you calling me about DVD player --- I had told you to put TV on channel 3 or 4 ----my mistake it has been changed to channel 2. So sorry for the inconvenience of movie night. At our kamp - the chairs on the deck are for all guests of ours to use whether you stay at our cabins, yurts or pitch a tent...this would be where you can sit and watch the river go by. Watch the blue herron, on an occasion see the bald eagle soar up and down the river bank ( as there is an active eagle nest just mile and half up stream from kamp.) Canadian geese are in abundance, and even on a rare occasion see a young black bear swim across the river....( a guest 3 weeks ago had this experience---she was kayaking and thought it was a dog ---till she got closer and said to herself " Oh ----" and then just back paddled to keep her distance and said to me "This was the neatest experience ever, I cannot wait to return next year!"
Annette Cates (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbybird...
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable cottage in a wonderful location...”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our party of 4 adults stayed for 4 nights at the end of September. The cottage is spacious and has all the fittings/utensils etc that you could need. Outside on the rear decking there is plenty of covered sitting space with a hot tub and large gas bbq - we spent ages out there...
The cottage is just across a quiet road from the Shenandoah River which is great if you want to fish, paddle, canoe etc. and is only about 10 minutes from the centre of Luray with it's shops and visitor attractions. It is also ideally situated for walking - one of our main leisure interests with marked trails virtually all around you.
If you like the peace and quite tied together with being outdoors then this place is for you.
We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - wonderful!
Liked least: Nothing really...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We do hope to see you again in the future!
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. It is greatly appreciated.
Annette Cates
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yvette121...
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cabin for a family getaway!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our 3 children 4,5, &10 and our dog, absolutely loved our stay in Rock Tavern. The cabin was completely stocked with everything and was immaculately clean. All we had to do was walk in and start relaxing. The back deck is awesome and the kids and dog loved exploring the 10 acres of land. I would recommend this cabin to anyone with or without kids. The area is quiet, peaceful, and has great views of the river and mountains. We all loved it here and will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience.
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing