We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet getaway”
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub
Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Living room with sofa bed
Brand new fully equipped kitchen
Solid rustic dining room furniture
King size master bed
Master bath vanity
Master bath jacuzzi tub
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
Satellite HDTV/DVDs in all rooms
2nd bathroom
2nd bathroom
Stone firepit with unlimited wood provided free
Full free laundry facilities provided
Two canoes and accessories provided
The beautiful Shenandoah River (you cannot see the river from the house)
Lovely grassy riverbank
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tlb_reads
Bluffton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet getaway”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a newer cabin just 7 miles or so out of Luray so it's quiet and peaceful. We saw deer every day. Lovely back porch, partially screened, and front porch also. Open layout made eating, game playing, just hanging out convenient. Full-size frig and dishwasher were a nice touch. Management was quick to address a couple of concerns and responded promptly with one exception - we were never able to get the jacuzzi tub in the master bath to work and received no follow-up from them on that but the hot tub worked fine so that did the trick. Some have mentioned neighbors but we never saw them. We did do the hot dogs and marshmallows over the fire pit which was nice. Really lovely "log cabin" style with exposed timbers inside added a lot of cabin feel. Lots to see and do in the area so it made a great central location for touring other surrounding communities.

Just a few things to be aware of - not criticisms but just things to note. 1) The cabin is set well over a mile onto a gravel road so prepare for dust, rock chips, and a 15 mph speed limit. 2) The top bunk bed is only about 24 inches from the ceiling so unless it's a really small child, you can't sit up. After a night or two you'll remember! 3) Notice that the summary of this property says "water access" NOT water view although one of the pictures kind of implies the river view. The river is a good 100 yards from the cabin so there's no view or sound. It is an absolutely gorgeous view once you get there, though. The bottom is very rocky so make sure you have water shoes to walk in the water which is pretty shallow for a long way and the water is amazingly clear. There is a picnic table rather far back from the shore so you might want to bring down the folding chairs so you'll have a place to sit and relax. We used the little firewood cart to haul the chairs. And getting into and out of the water can be tricky as there are only 4 cement blocks serving as the "step."

Only real negative (besides the jacuzzi) was that no one had evidently checked the canoes after the last renters left so we found one largely upright and full of leaves and water. Hope someone did fix this later as the four of us were unable to turn/empty it.

All in all, a great place as long as you know what to expect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Terry, thanks for the suggestions and gentle nudges. We will take a look at those issues. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnlayco...
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Our was serene, relaxing and beautiful.”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My wife and I booked this so we could get away with our dogs for a few days. We loved this location because it was cozy and had a nice cabin look / feel to it. We didn't want to rent another house so this was perfect. It a very short walk back to the river which itself has views of the mountains and trees etc. They offered bikes and canoes which was awesome. We checked out the Luray caverns that aren't far. We also checked out some of the nearby breweries and the best was Copper Fox Distillery totally worth the short trip. Skyline drive is a nice half day or day trip with access to trails and other things. The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. We brought a kennel for the pups and they accepted them to stay which was awesome as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Hey John, thanks for the nice review. I'm glad you and your wife (and the pups) were able to get away and relax! That's what it's all about.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coverm201...
Bozeman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway- Perfect Way to Relax”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My wife and I wanted to get out of the DC area to relax in the mountains and we couldn't be happier. The cabin is very nicely appointed and the booking experience was great. I'm from Montana and lived in Europe and Alaska for years, and this was the first time in a while that I felt like I was back home, it has a great cabin feel to it.

There is a river that is about a two minute walk in the back that is great, and a resort that is about 40' south with all the activities that you can imagine.

If you are even considering whether or not to book this rental, book it- you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Thanks to you and your wife for coming out! Not quite as remote as Montana or Alaska but glad it got you feeling that way again! It's great to get away. We have a place called High Ridge cabin that is really remote as well. See you all in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A
1 review
“Romantic weekend getaway”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Overall great place. Great for a weekend for couples or even a family with a couple of kids. Liked all the extras this place had. Had a couple of minor things that didn't work perfectly but the owners said they'd get right on it. The owners were great to work with, got back to us quickly, and returned the security deposit fast. Very short walk to the river which is beautiful as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Sara, thanks for coming out to Bear Timbers, and we're really happy you and your family had a great stay! We will make sure to update the things you mentioned. We're making a sign for that tub stopper so that it's clearer how it works in the future. Hope to see you guys again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryanledr...
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect little get away”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We rented the cabin for the weekend and it was perfect. It had all the amenities we needed and we enjoyed the walks down to the river as well as the proximity to Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. There are neighbors right next door, but we did not see or hear from them the whole time. The hot tub was a bonus after a long day of walking around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and gas burning heater in the living room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Bryan, thanks for taking the time leave a review! It really helps our business and we appreciate knowing that you had a great time. Love to have you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing