We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice cabin”
The side of the cabin that faces the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The side of the cabin that faces the river
Modern hot tub, with lots of jets and bubbles, overlooking the lawn and river Canoes ready to go in the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
120 reviews
The side of the cabin that faces the river
Modern hot tub, with lots of jets and bubbles, overlooking the lawn and river
Canoes ready to go in the water
Large campfire pit and picnic table by river
Beautiful shoreline to fish from or push the canoes out!
Living room w/ Gas Log Fireplace and full sleeper
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Master Bdrm. w/ 26 in. Flat Plasma Sat. TV/DVD/VCR
Bdrm. #2 Pyramid bed (Twin over full) w/ 26 in. Fl
Hallway bathroom
Water Purification system w/ Washer and Dryer
Porch swing on the deck
Experience all Bear Valley has to offer!
Stacked firewood for you to use
Canoe down the mighty Shenandoah River! This is what it looks like from above the river
Beautiful shoreline to fish from or push the canoes out!
You'll never want to leave!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Esmeralda...
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice cabin”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at the Bear Valley Cabin. Being this our third time in Luray, we appreciated the following: Non-smelly water out of the pipes, a clean and fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds with linens and extra blankets. Having the bikes in the shed was also a plus. The star gazing comes with the package. Something we did not enjoy was the presence of lots and lots of lady bugs. It was hard to keep them away the cabin along with some scary wasps. I don't want to sound like a "city girl" but this was an issue the first day. The following day, wasps were visiting less frequently; maybe is a good idea to remove the nest that is hanging over the main entrance. We drove to Skyline, a must when you are in Luray to get beautiful views and fresh air and a great hike. The cabin felt a bit small for a family of 5 but it is a wonderful choice for families with younger kids. The booking process was so easy and smooth so I highly recommend staying at this cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the kitchen.
Liked least: Infestation of lady bugs and some wasps nests.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecbtravel
ellicott city md
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and fun time, lots of amenities, charming cabin”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for only 2 days, but enjoyed it! We made use of all of the amenities, the bikes, the canoes, the tubes, both firepits and the hot tub. The hot tub was wonderful, the kids loved it and it was nice on a cool morning. We made s'mores both nights over the firepits. The firepit by the river was especially relaxing. The canoes were lots of fun. The cabin itself is impeccably kept. The kitchens is super equipped, the furniture comfy and plenty of instructions on everything that you want to do there. The decor in the cabin is very cute and it is very comfortable. I could see coming here in the fall and making use of the hot tub and fireplace. Having the wifi was great, as we spent 2 days before that in the mountains and our son was missing the wifi.
There is about 1/4 of a acre of yard leading up to the river. There is a road in the front and there were a lot of buses and trucks coming back and forth from the Outfitter's tubing business (drop offs and pick ups along the river), but if you go biking on the road early in the morning you can avoid that. Other than the biking, the traffic didn't bother us at all b/c the property is so big and the road is far away from the cabin. The property is not completely isolated, there are neighbor cabins, each with plenty of space so you get the privacy, but be aware that it's not completely isolated. The place is dog friendly and we appreciated that, we brought out little guy with us. The neighbor cabins also had dogs. The river was beautiful, the view from the cabin also beautiful. Walking on the river bed is very tricky, it's slick slabs of rock, so best to just canoe in the river. Stock up on groceries before you come, you won't want to have to leave this relaxing place to go shopping! Overall we were verrry relaxed, had one of the summer best days we've had as a family there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities like hot tub and canoes and firepits
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NIce place for a quick vacation”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is situated right on the river, which was nice. It is a bit small, but was very clean. A good 30 minutes or so from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, but the ride is pretty. You are definitely in the boonies!
In all, we are glad we went but probably won't go back, not because we didn't like the cabin, but we decided we would like to explore other places on future vacations.
A negative note - we were charged extra for our teens (18 and 19) because they were over 18 - did not like that at all. Not sure why - they didn't take up any more space than usual. That was frustrating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: riverfront location
Liked least: paying extra for my older teenagers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was neat, clean, and close to the river. Do plan to bring basic kitchen essentials-condiments, plastic wrap, foil, if needed--those were not present at the cabin as expected. It is an idyllic setting, and we were sad we had to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to river
Liked least: Visiting geese and their droppings--but what can you do?
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MexicoMum...
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat From the City”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking to escape the DC metro area and the Bear Valley River cabin was perfect! The reservation process was very organized and timely, which I really appreciated. We were especially thrilled to know that we could bring our two dogs without being charged a fortune. We're responsible pet owners and being able to bring our two boys with us was important. I really appreciate Bear Valley River not taking advantage of this like I've seen at other vacation homes.

Getting to the cabin was easy but be sure to bring all your booze, food and condiments with you because it's kind of haul back to Luray; completely doable but more than a quick run to the store. When we arrived I was thrilled to see that everything was as advertised. The cabin had everything we needed (grill, pots, pans, dish soap, towels, toilet paper, firewood) and a few bonuses we hadn't expected (board games, binoculars). The hot tub was great and on the top deck, which made star gazing even nicer.

The canoes were a bit spider-webby and needed a definite sweeping/rinsing before climbing in. If you plan on taking the canoes out, I'd recommend cleaning them out early to give the spiders time to relocate. Hauling them down to the shore isn't too rough but typically a two-person job. The water access was good but the bank probably isn't the best fishing spot. If you're happy with fishing an activity, not a sport, the bank with probably suit you just fine. The dogs absolutely loved swimming in the river. In general, we were very happy with the river access.

The large grassy area between the cabin and the river was awesome. Our dogs were able to stretch their legs and there was plenty of room to play fetch. There was also plenty of room for sunbathing and games like ladderball or cornhole. The fire pit was also great since it wasn't too far from the wood pile; plus it was huge so we were able to get a good fire going. We didn't take out the mountain bikes but they were ready and waiting if we wanted to give them a spin.

I can't think of anything I was disappointed in. The rate was great and there was plenty to do (or not do if that's your preference). We would definitely book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: River access
Liked least: Bugs - Not much they could do about them
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 185
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing