We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luray Caverns Motel West

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luray Caverns Motel West
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luray
williamsburg, va.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We also read a few of the reviews here about not staying but decided to try it based upon the good reviews and we are glad that we stayed here. The staff was extemely friendly and very helpful in our stay there, we loved the area so much we decided to stay another night and explore more of the area. The great thing is that we got our tickets for Luray Caverns through them and received a 10$ discount on the room, our first night (2 adults)with taxes and Luray Cavern tickets was 103$ BUT you also get a free breakfast buffet ticket for each person staying to use at caverns resteraunt. (which is a 9$ ticket/person discount) so it was a no brainer to stay there. The rooms are fairly large and the beds were comfortable, we stayed in Room's 24 and 14, and found 24 interesting in that i shut the TV off in the evening and at 200Am the TV came on....could be haunted...but who knows. The views from our back windows were of the mountains and the night was peaceful. My wife and I were very pleased with our stay here and our experiences with this motel are excellent, the price was right and a bargain in our book.

  • Liked — the value and the location of the motel.
  • Disliked — the bathroom wall paper, i know, trival.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ghettoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed at the Luray Caverns Motel West for three nights in June. It is an old hotel, not for everyone, which is why there are mixed reviews. But if you are looking for a rather quiet place without the hustle and bustle and a beautiful view from both the front and back then this quaint little place will do just fine. We had stayed here 8 years ago for a week and came back and still enjoyed it.
The hotel now gives breakfast vouchers for a freee breakfast at the Luray Caverns restaurant accross the highway from the motel. It is only 9 miles from the top of Skyline Drive, which is why we stayed there. We head up to Shenandoah National Park to hike all day, then back down to the hotel to rest up for the next days hike. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to enjoy time away from the hustle and bustle of the big city and is tired of the name brand motel chains.

  • Liked — It is a throwback to the past, very comfortable and laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — Some repairs are needed.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ohioroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

The room was fine and clean. (Glad we didn't get scared away by other reviews!) Right across from the Caverns, where your breakfast of cereal, juice and coffee awaits.
But the highlight of our visit to Luray was meeting the night clerk, John Waybright, who recently retired after decades of editing the local newspaper. If there's something about Luray and the surrounding countryside Mr. Waybright doesn't know, you don't need to know it. GREAT advice on local hiking, dining, but also insight into local history and politics. It really made our visit a lot more interesting.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pzdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

A Motel 6 or a Super 8 have better rooms.

This hotel is straight out of the 1940's. I think that was the last time the beds and pillows were updated. The staff was very friendly and willing to do what they could but this place is is not worth the $89 per night they charge. Everything from the 1970's brown sink and bath tub to the worn out carpet that you didn't dare want to walk barefoot on were awful. I've stayed in a lot of places and this ranks right up there with a hotel in Pine Bluff, AR as one of the worst places I have stayed. My wife and my back's hurt so bad from the hard mattress we thought the floor may have been more comfortable, expect the carpet was awful.

The towels in the bathroom were very small and worn out. The owners should really be ashamed. They need to invest some money in the place because it could be a nice place to stay. The postive was the carillion which is right across the street played the night we were there, so that was very nice.

The coupon they give you for breakfast at the cafe across the street is also a joke. We upgraded to the full breakfast which after eating we should have saved our money and went to McDonalds.

Anybody who stays here is either too cheap to spend money on a real hotel or doesn't know any better. I wish I'd have found TripAdvisor before staying here.

Sorry about the rant. This place is just terrible.

  • Liked — The view of the back porch and the carillion across the street.
  • Disliked — Just about everything.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rogers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luray hotels

USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2006

After this experience, I will never again book a room for multiple nights without showing up first and seeing what it is like. You'd think that for $90 a night, in rural America, you'll get something half-way decent? Well, think again. The building that we stayed in (one of several on the property) was awful. Being there was like living in a self-storage unit. There is no wood or plaster on the walls, just wall-paper glued over bare cinderblocks. You can clearly see the outlines of the blocks! As for practical considerations, all the rooms on the upper floor are connected by a common balcony, so be prepared to have other peoples' kids running and yelling by your window. Even worse, the area near the front door has a bathroom-shower-style glass pane that serves as a floor-to-ceiling window. This glass is right in front of the "bathroom" sink (not actually located in the adjoining bathroom) and next to the entrance to the bathroom. So while brushing your teeth or coming out of the shower, you can clearly see what is going on outside, and anyone walking by can see you as well. So you can forget about privacy. Finally, our room had no alarm clock, let alone extended cable. This place is a joke, and is definitely not worth $90 a night.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Constantius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
1.9 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.0 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.3 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
1.7 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
22.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luray Caverns Motel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luray Caverns Motel West

Property: Luray Caverns Motel West
Address: 1001 Highway 211 East, PO Box 748, Luray, VA 22835
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price range (per night): $99 - $128
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Luray Caverns Motel West Hotel Luray
Luray Caverns Hotel West
Luray Caverns Motel East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing