We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time not as good. Go during the week- cook was better”

The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Three Rivers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, nestled in the foothills of the Sierra Mountains on the Kaweah River and just minutes away from Sequoia National Park, Kings Canyon, and other popular destinations, is the perfect hideaway for a relaxing, memorable vacation. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is one of California's best lodging options for your visit to Sequoia National Park, the Sierra Mountains, Kings Canyon and other Kaweah River locales. And, with full service banquet facilities and a large meeting room, The Gateway is ideal for small groups, sales meetings, and retreats. Our beautiful setting overlooking the Kaweah River combined with our hospitality, our fine cuisine, and comfortable lodging will make your vacation unforgettable. We'd love to be your guide to a memorable experience in Three Rivers and the beautiful Sierra Mountains.
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We first went during the week for breakfast. It was amazing. Lots of hash browns. Coffee good. Eggs good. Pancakes good. Bacon undercooked- maybe some people like it that way. Went back on a saturday morning. Small scoop of has browns (half of previous visit). We asked for crispy bacon and got almost burnt dried out bacon (surely there is a middle ground). Still a beautiful view. We enjoyed watching the ducks.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chewiesmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for stopping by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018

Driving up the canyon towards the entrance to Sequoia National Park's southern route, the Gateway sits along the river's edge providing great outdoor atmosphere and an awesome setting & view along the river's edge. Service was excellent and our meal quite tasty too! I'm looking to be back up there again soon and will enjoy this experience all over again!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for the review, Bryan, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Food choices were good and all three of us finished our meals, however this part of calfifornia seems to be stuck in a time warp from the 80s or 90s. Decor is a bit dated but staff were lovely and we were immediately offered a window view which was stunning. Would visit again if in the area but not seek intentionally.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks for the review, Jess! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

nice restaurant. food was good, but not great. very expensive. was shocked at the prices. the staff were wonderful and food came to the table fast and hot.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank juicee000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Visited Sequoia National Park and stayed at a lodge across from this restaurant. We did not stay at this lodge but we ate here for dinner and it had a beautiful view of a river with various different types of ducks swimming in it. The service was great and the food was good but nothing spectacular. Our family enjoyed our experience there.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidqtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for the review, David! Glad to hear you had a wonderful time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing