We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Plenty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River View Restaurant & Lounge

River View Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Price range: USD 7 - USD 22
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Plenty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Philly Cheese Steak and fries was very good at a reasonable price. My wife had a really good cheeseburger with fries. They have many other menu items to choose from. In good weather eat on the patio overlooking the river. Restuarant is a short drive to the south entrance to Sequoia NP.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldvsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    138
    83
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
155 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An exceptionally friendly place with lots of happy locals.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We visited the River View Restaurant & Lounge during our trip to the Sequoias. Our B&B hosts suggested the pizza, and we must say it was very good. The best part of this restaurant it's location overlooking a bubbling rocky river. Sitting outside was wonderful and unlike other Tripadvisor reviews we found the service excellent. It was an exceptionally friendly place with lots of happy locals.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

River View had decent food, but nothing I found myself craving weeks after we visited. The service was really friendly and the menu had plenty of choices to accommodate all different tastes.

What we will return for is the lunch adjacent to a beautiful flowing river. Definitely made for a nice, relaxing start to our Sequoia trip. Next time I'm going to have to try their pizzas, which I have heard are their pride and joy, but for now I'll critique the food as just ok.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice view of the river; food not special.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We celebrated our 47th anniversary with a trip to Sequoia. After checking reviews on Trip Advisor for our local restaurants we chose River View Lounge. The deck overlooks the river; the sun was setting so we had a beautiful early evening waiting for our meal.
The wait persons are extremely young and inexperienced. We asked for a lemonaid and one glass of wine The wine arrived with our order, the lemonade not at all. We finally chose a simple burger and chicken salad. These arrived in a plastic container with small paper napkin. Okay for a quick bite but not anything special if you want to have a nice dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Food does not match wonderful view & setting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We ate here while on vacation. Not a lot of local options. The riverside deck is very large and the view is gorgeous. The inside is rustic & there seemed to be a lot of locals hanging out. There was also live music. Wish I could say the food was as good as the setting but it is not. Took a long time to get it and it wasn't worth the wait. We did not return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River View Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
 

Been to River View Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing