We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at La Fonda on the Plaza!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at La Fonda on the Plaza!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our second visit to Santa Fe, but our first to the La Fonda. The room was a bit on the small side, but I've found historic hotels tend to have smaller rooms, so that was no matter to me. The room was very clean and comfortable for myself, spouse and tween daughter, plus our Dachshund. Loved the fact that the hotel welcomed pets and at no charge! The bed was very comfortable and the down pillows were so comfortable that I actually took one out of the case to see who made them. When I got home, I did some research and found they are American-made, which I appreciate, and ordered my own. The room and hotel were decorated with beautiful Southwestern flare and the atmosphere was festive, friendly and fun. We enjoyed the two terraced hot tubs and the pool and browsing at the hotel's stores especially the rock shop. We ate in the lounge restaurant where we had excellent food and service and a fun time dancing. The hotel's location right on the Plaza can't be beat! You can walk everywhere, museums, shopping and the cathedral are across the street in one direction and the plaza park, restaurants and more shopping in the other. We didn't encounter any negatives and found the whole staff to be friendly, attentive and professional. The front desk and concierge were very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return. I recommend driving to Bandelier National Monument for a fun hike and ancient ruins.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    479
    115
    49
    40
See reviews for
379
1,011
93
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

We don't get up this way often but always enjoy the fine weather, beautiful scenery, culture, and dining when we DO make it to Santa Fe. Have been staying at La Fonda for all of our recent visits - the hotel and staff never disappoint.

This time we made great time driving in and arrived about 2 pm, well before checkin time. Dave the bellman took us in hand, got us parked, loaded all our bags and escorted us to the front desk, and stayed with us through the first room and a room change (the room assigned at checkin, though very comfortable, had spotty to no wireless Internet connectivity). Dave moved us into the first room, then moved us OUT of the first room into the second. Took about an hour of his time. (Yes he earned a nice tip but any way you cut it, this was cheerful and helpful service beyond the call, and very welcome after out seven hour drive)!

A fine star stay once again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I took my husband to La Fonda to celebrate his 60th birthday. Prior to the trip I e-mailed Rebecca, the concierge at the The Terrace, to arrange for flowers and balloons in our room. I was very insistant that everything be perfect. Well, she exceeded my expectations. The room was beautifully decorated with the flowers and balloons, along wtih a bottle of complimentary wine, and a welcome tray of cheese, crackers, and fruit. Rebecca was very attentive to our every need. We later found out that everyone connected to the hotel, from the desk staff, to the housekeepers, to the parking attendants were exceptional. The artwork throughout the hotel was so beautiful that it was like being in an art gallery/musuem. Even our room had amazing orginal artwork. Having the choice of breakfast brought to our room or eating in the amaxing restuarant downstairs included in the room price was a nice touch. We did both and loved everything. My husband was so impressed that he can't wait to return. Special thanks to Rebecca, who set the tone for excellence before we even arrived and to Steve, the downstairs concierge, for loaning me a cell phone charger for the week. He saved me the trouble and expense of hunting down one to buy. We love LaFonda for making us feel so special every minute of our stay!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in The Terrance rooms. They are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulmateLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel has the real feel of the Southwest. The entrances are lines with upscale stores that carry Southwestern merchandise. The lobby is filled with wonderful paintings of the Southwest. The rooms are on the smallish side, but the folk art paintings on the end tables and dressers make up for it. The concierge Nancy is wonderful. So friendly and helpful. Every restaurant she sent us to was a gem. And the hotel restaurant itself is special. Lots of items have a Northern New Mexico touch. The eggs Benedict have tomatillos in the Hollandaise sauce and the sausage gravy has green chiles in it. If you visit Santa Fe, you'll be glad you stayed here.

Room Tip: If you have the money, splurge on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

During our five day trip to New Mexico, my wife and I stayed one night at the La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe. I have been in the Marine Corps for 26 years, and have been all over the country and world -- this is an excellent hotel. The room was very nice and authentic Santa Fe -- I’ve included photos of our room. Our king size bed was outstanding and very comfortable. The location is as good as it gets -- right on the corner of the Plaza. Overall, the staff was very good; however, the bell man, David Robinson, was outstanding! We first met him on the top floor and talked to him for about five minutes. About three hours later, he recognized us while we were in the bar having a margarita -- we ended up chatting with him for another five or ten minutes and he gave us some excellent dining recommendations. He definitely stood out among the staff – down to earth, friendly, humorous and helpful. We ate breakfast at the hotel -- La Plazuela at La Fonda -- and it was excellent, as well. The only reasons I am not giving this hotel the highest rating is because the WiFi did not work in our room. I contacted the front desk twice to inquire about the WiFi and the person at the front desk never responded to me, as she said she would. Also, the bathtub is in need of replacing -- it was definitely showing signs of age. Regardless, I highly recommend the La Fonda Hotel when visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: WiFi did not work in our first floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,268 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
592 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): $272 - $593
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda On The Plaza Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing