We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 266
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 237
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Agoda.com
USD 209
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/01/22
travelup.com
Hotels.comUSD 237
PricelineUSD 266
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,829)
Filter reviews
1,829 results
Traveller rating
909
490
241
106
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
909
490
241
106
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el dorado front desk agave bar valet parking beautiful hotel hot tub rooms are large king room fitness center two blocks happy hour return to santa fe new mexico canyon road conference plaza fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,829 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2021

Check In Grade: B - We notified the front desk, via text, that we were arriving at 7:00 and they communicated back to us immediately. Drive down the ramp, next to the elegant stairway entrance for Valet Parking. There was only one attendant, who was busy, but kept up with lots of energy, enthusiasm and communication (via two-way) for the porter to pick up our luggage with caddy. Front desk associate was very friendly, with excellent communication skills, describing our room (meeting all my pre check-in accommodations) and alerting us that the restaurant and bar would be closing at 9:00 p.m.. Nick was the only porter available, and was outstanding getting our bags from the garage to the room by 7:25, and accommodating our request to light the fireplace within 15 minutes. There was no room menu so my wife requested one, which was never delivered.

Hotel Room Location & View Grade: A+ Truly outstanding top/fifth floor corner room view of downtown neighborhood and surrounding mountains. This is the reason why we booked The Eldorado. You also can't beat the short walking distance to the plaza, shops, restaurants, and cathedrals.

Room Furnishings Grade: B The desk/chair/flat screen/console dresser/coffee & drink cabinet were all great. There were added electrical outlets on the desk and one night stand for easy charging. For the room price the drapes and curtain are in need of an upgrade. The brown suede chair looked worn down and had stained arms. The refrigerator was x-large but made a faint humming sound. The room safe is located at the bottom shelf of one nightstand... WARNING, it is not bolted down and could be picked up and carried away. The highlight was the natural fireplace with an abundance of wood provided by Nick both nights of our stay. The warmth, crackling, wood smell, and coziness it provided after a long day made the evening/bedtime very relaxing.

King Bed Mattress & Pillows Grade: A+ Truly Exceptional Comfort and Sleep Quality!

Bathroom Shower/Vanity/Toiletries Grade: A+ Lots of hot water provided by a full flow shower head. LATHER brand exfoliating bath and facial soap bars, along with shampoo and rinse, were top class! Plenty of thick towels and bathrobes added an exquisite touch.

Conclusion: I researched and read a lot of reviews on The Eldorado and neighboring downtown hotels, before booking a room on our first trip to Santa Fe. I believe that some of these reviews were harsh on The Eldorado concerning staff shortage, housekeeping, room temperature during the summer, limited hours for dining/drinking, and amenity fees. The staff, though limited. were professional and courteous. The lobby, front desk and gift shop vibe was contemporary, with personnel having great personalities. I received a special "welcome back to travel" offer when looking into booking, that discounted the room rate. The Eldorado met and exceeded our expectations (excluding the few drawbacks mentioned above), and I recommend it for; location, value, sleep and shower quality.

Room tip: Fifth Floor Corner King w/Fireplace
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brassychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey Harney, Other at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2021

Thank you for all of the great feedback about your experience! We appreciate you going into such detail and highlighting what you felt to be our strengths and weaknesses. We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we truly appreciate your support and recommendation. We will share your review with our staff and your honest feedback will help us to become our very best! We would love another chance to care for you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2021

The furniture in the lobby is very low to the ground. Ideal for hipsters but not comfortable or easy to get out of.
My room was freezing cold.
They lost my luggage
Served a Caesar salad with no dressing.
Room was very uncomfortable
Not sure how this place earned diamonds

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank PokeysMainMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey Harney, Other at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are deeply sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one, but we truly appreciate your honesty as this will help us to become our very best. We understand that this stay was not the best, but we are committed to improving and we hope you will give us another chance to impress you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Our stay at El Dorado Hotel was amazing! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great, the pool is so relaxing and beautiful. We will most definitely be staying here again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharrons387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey Harney, Other at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2021

We are thrilled that your experience with us was five-star! Thank you so much for your kind words and support. It truly means the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021 via mobile

We had a great experience. Excellent service and great property. Will definately go again. Can’t reccomend it enough. You have to go! The bar is the bomb! The staff is attentive and responsive. Location is awesome! Property is beautiful and close to everything historic.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic22315240829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey Harney, Other at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2021

Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review! We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and we truly appreciate your support and recommendation. We look forward to caring for you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Clean hotel a few blocks away from Taos Plaza. It is a very large, convention style hotel in my opinion which lacks the charm of other nearby hotels. The bed was comfortable and had adequate electrical outlets. The bathroom was a good size with good towels and amenities. You had to request maid service otherwise it was not done. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast at the on site restaurant was mediocre and service was slow. There is a nice gift shop on the premises. Honestly, nothing special.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyQu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey Harney, Other at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our large, clean hotel and friendly staff! We apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, but we truly appreciate your honest feedback as this will help us to become our very best! We will work with our team to improve and we hope to care for you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews