We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An essential ingredient for Sante Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“An essential ingredient for Sante Fe”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staying at El Paradero was like adding an essential ingredient to a enjoyable visit to Sante Fe, New Mexico. The inn is clean, comfortable, colorfully and playfully decorated with Hispanic and Native American Indian art and other antiquities. Breakfast is creatively prepared and delicious, served in a charming dining room with east facing windows for that wonderful morning light. Tea in the afternoon was something worth coming back for to find perfectly baked cookies and cakes to relax over while planning the night's events. Comfortable bed, good value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    155
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
96
505
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Having visited Santa Fe several times I was disappointed with the upkeep and quality of this B&B. The building is a hodge-podge of added-on architecture, none of which matches. The common areas are very cramped (except for the breakfast room) which makes it uncomfortable to check-in, check-out and load/unload your vehicle. The doors are paper thin and low quality. In fact, much of the inn is poorly constructed and much maintenance is needed. The inn keeper is nice enough but it takes more than that to charge what she charges compared to her competitors. The one benefit was the breakfasts - they were good and filling (especially the huevos racheros). My entire experience boils down to the fact that this B&B was NOT authentically Santa Fe. What I mean is that the charming and cozy adobe style so prevalent throughout Santa Fe (and many other B&Bs) was completely missing here in the architectural style and the furnishings (except for the breakfast room, oh, and some of the rooms have adobe fireplaces). Unfortunately, the most memorable parts of the inn seem messy, cluttered, old (not in a good way) with thin drywall walls (not the beautiful adobe stucco walls with contoured details). I would not recommend this place with so many other great options in Santa Fe - however, if you get an incredible price here and just want a place to sleep and eat breakfast with little to no ambiance, then it may be the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the common areas and with an authentic adobe fireplace (even in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravelSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at El Paradero.
The review is very puzzling to us, it's as if you stayed at a different Inn! The website pictures are a very accurate picture of the Inn, in fact we get many compliments on the website from guests when they arrive!
The Inn is the oldest in Santa Fe, the main building being 200yrs old, and we're
not sure how much you know about local architecture, but El Paradero is the real thing.
Instead of answering each point I would merely point out the 381 EXCELLENT REVIEWS, from guests who loved their visit. I guess it was just not your style.
I see you also posted a very negative review of the O'Keeffe museum. We hope you enjoy your next visit to Santa Fe, and find a place you're happy with.
Paul Elliott / Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here 15 years ago and it was owned by different people, so when I went online to book a room, I didn't recognize it. But when we arrived I could tell that it was the same place, however, the new owners have done a great job decorating and making the b&b super nice and inviting. The food was great for breakfast and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I love this inn. The room was beautiful cozy and sweet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at El Paradero: warm and welcoming service, delicious food (both breakfast and tea time desserts), beautiful and clean rooms.
It was a quiet and comforting place to stay within walking distance of downtown.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms that include a fireplace and Pinon wood, which were all taken when we checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalls12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

El Paradero is fantastic. Give it a try and it wil be your go-to place for comfort, convenience (walking distance to the Plaza) and convivial proprietors and fellow guests. Teatime and breakfasts are great. Would not stay at any other place in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 220 W Manhattan Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): $198 - $330
Hotel Class:3 star — El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old Santa Fe charm in this historic adobe bed and breakfast inn located downtown just minutes walking from the Plaza, Canyon Road, restaurants, shops, and galleries. Travel Holiday magazine rates us an "A+" in value, and guests tell us that they love our hospitality, full breakfast, and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paradero b&b Inn
El Paradero Hotel Santa Fe
El Paradero Bed And Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing