We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rustic lodge full of character - we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for four nights in August and had a wonderful time. We had room 189 in the Juniper Lodge which was the last room on the edge of the resort looking over the stables. We have read criticisms of this lodge (the smell of the horses etc.) but for us it was a fabulous experience and what we would expect from a ranch style resort. The lodge had a really spacious deck area which we sat out on a lot and it was really peaceful.

Our room was large and well equipped including a fridge. It was comfortable and clean although the decor is quite dark (the style of the area) and a little dated.

We had several meals in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. We also enjoyed a Brazillian night with live music and terrific food (my teenage son's favourite meal of the holiday!)

The resort is only five minutes drive from the plaza but it is so tranquil and peaceful. The pool area was nice too.

The hotel is not a cheap option so I can understand people expecting a lot from it and maybe the rustic feel is a disappointment to some, but for us it was perfect and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Juniper Lodge is at the end of the resort and looks over the stables. It has a lovely large deck an...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 23betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

Talk about a beautiful setting! This place is a slice of heaven in the peaceful mountains near Santa Fe. Just five minutes or so from the hustle and bustle of the downtown square is this dude ranch style lodge with perfect rooms right out of the old west. High class ammenities with old world charm and excellent service. Wonderful restaurant wonderful spa and wonderful horseback riding. My kids loved picking up apples fresh fallen from the trees to feed to the horses. Beautiful hiking trails and plenty to do. Like a private compound on someone's ranch! We loved it!

Room Tip: We loved the North Lodge..so private. Older rooms with wonderful charm.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djhigbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

To enjoy the best that Santa Fe has to offer, consider staying at Bishop's Lodge. I recommend the 2nd floor on the 2 highest buildings on the resort, as you can have a view that is breath taking. The rooms were spacious clean and we enjoyed the gas fireplace at night. When booking make sure that you request this. Everything else about the resort is top notch. It is located in the foothills of the mountains, yet is only a 5 minute drive to the downtown Plaza and Canyon Road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank picklemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in a suite on our wedding night. We had a beautiful balcony over looking the property, with Fall colors just starting to appear in the trees. The room felt very secluded and was very spacious with a fireplace, lounge area and a huge bathroom. Unfortunately we did not get to explore the entire property during our stay, but we can't wait to stay again and take advantage of some of the amenities (we really wanted to do the horesback riding on the property). Maybe on our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband, our two daughters (11yr & 5yr), and myself stayed at the Bishop's Lodge in March 2011. We were looking for something that would be conveniently located to Santa Fe, yet away from the tourist crowds and busy atmosphere.....We found just that, at the Bishops Lodge. The rooms were spacious, and the property grounds were manicured. We took a tour of the chaple, and the stables. We were unable to take advantage of the horse riding, but the staff was very helpful and courtious when we called for appointments.

The cost for the room during this time period was wonderful, and there are different types of packages you can take advantage of. Make sure you are asking for different promotions when you call -- all of the promotions may not show up online or be shared when you call. So make sure you ask. (This is a great tip for booking any hotel/car rental).

We would highly recommend this property!! Its great for a couples retreat, a solo trip to be pampered (check out their spa), with a group of friends, and families. There are many fun activities you can arrange, and the prices are reasonable. * If you do stay here --- take a short drive to Ojo Calientes Hot Springs...its wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dhuma2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
443 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
893 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casas de Guadalupe
#10 of 23 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 36 in Santa Fe
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $161 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing