We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ravens Ridge
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 218*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 299*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 191*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 243*
USD 209*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Inn of the Turquoise Bear(Santa Fe)
USD 440*
USD 411*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 187*
USD 169*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 218*
USD 212*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldorado Hotel & Spa(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 209*
USD 184*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Old Santa Fe Inn(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 197*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel St. Francis(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
USD 215*
USD 204*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
277
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
277
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarlight roomkoi pondhumming birdsgreat hostseach morningastronomy lessonnew mexicoharry's roadhouseold santa fe trailcasita suiteshort driveother guestsgourmet breakfastmuseum hillsanta fe styletrip to santa fefull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet and unique place to stay in Santa Fe, look no further, contact Phyllis and Judge at Ravens Ridge. We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) just spent several days at this great accommodation. Phyllis and Judge are remarkable and we loved and treasured our conversations with them. Their knowledgeable recommendations on restaurants and trips around town make us want to visit Santa Fe in the very near future. Most important of all, they make our stay very special and feel like home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank st09734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Summary

We generally agree with all the positive reviews about this B&B, and we'd stay here again.

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights over the Christmas holiday, and despite being away from family, Judge and Phyllis made our visit a home away from home. Their warm customer service began with our initial couple phone calls during which we peppered Phyllis with all kinds of questions about the area and Raven's Ridge as we tried to decide whether to stay downtown or at their B&B. Phyllis was so friendly, patient and helpful that we couldn't help but pick RR.

Pros

- Truly great, warm customer service from the wonderful owners. Always answered the phone or were available in the common area to field questions, provide service, address any issue. Multiple examples of them going above and beyond, including Judge removing snow from visitors' cars, loaning me his tripod for some night photography, replenishing our wood supply as we ran our fireplace quite a bit, etc.
- Great advice from Phyllis and Judge on restaurants, things to do around town.
- Museum passes for free admission to several great museums, adding to the value of staying here.
- Judge is an expert on the night sky and the zodiac and will wow most folks with his laser pointer and telescope as he points out constellations, planets and other interesting astronomical and astrological information. During our stay, he patiently did this on his deck in single-digit temperatures despite us missing his previous two discussions that evening!
- Stayed in the Starlight room, which was generally roomy, private, quiet, comfortable, nicely decorated with area decor, outfitted with a terrific wood-burning kiva fireplace.
- Reasonable 10-minute or so drive to museums, popular restaurants and the plaza sights.
- Delicious and beautifully presented gourmet breakfasts in their sunny, warm breakfast room with a great view of the surrounding hills and birds in their huge, wonderful back yard. Coffee and tea options using their Keurig machine, fresh juice options at breakfast, cookies and treats on the table all day.
- Good conversation with the owners and other guests (at breakfast), yet privacy when you want it.
- The owners provide a great simplified downtown map for sightseeing that helps zoom in on favorite spots.
- The owners provide a sheet of wonderful day-by-day itinerary ideas for your stay, even folding in specific events such as the Saturday farmer's market.
- Refrigerator in the room, microwave in the common area.
- Easy parking in their surprisingly big lot.
- Good overall value.

Nit picks

- We were happy with our decision to stay out in the "country" with fresh air and quiet, but occasionally wished we could walk to the Plaza from a downtown hotel.
- B&B experiences aren't for everyone. For example, some fellow guests are wonderful to chat with at breakfast, while others can be annoying after a while, and sometimes we'd just prefer to eat on our own schedule and in peace away from other guests after a couple days of socializing.
- The owners have a cute dog who socializes infrequently; those who love dogs will love her, while others could have their zen-like stay slightly interrupted by her following them around insatiably awaiting her next treat!
- The Starlight room was roomy, with a cool, huge window to the sky, but the bathroom and separate sink area were each on the small side. A couple can't share the mirror to get ready in the morning.
- Despite the place being very quiet and comfortable, we somewhat oddly had a hard time sleeping here. Others don't seem to mention this problem, so perhaps we were just a little more sensitive to the pillowy mattress, the dryness of the Santa Fe air, the heat from our fireplace, etc.
- The above-ground hot tub is in a wonderful backyard location. During our visit, however, there was a bit of a smell from pool chemicals perhaps.
- The property is well-lit 90% of the time at night, but a couple nights, one or two lights were on the blink, and we ended up using the little mini-flashlights they leave in the room. We're city folk, so being in the dark out in the country among coyote howls makes us think a bit...
- We found the provided "zoomed out" map to get to downtown a bit confusing, and missed a turn the first day when we were travel-lagged.

Tips

- Study a downtown map and plan out your day; what you want to see and for how long. While it's true the owners provide access to a free space in a parking garage downtown, we found it more convenient each day to find street parking ($1/hour) closer to the sites we wanted to see, and there are other free public lots that are almost as convenient (such as at the capitol).
- We thought the best, most-plentiful paintings in town were at the capitol building. We thought the O'Keeffe Museum was a bit small and disappointing, as was the main downtown art museum.
- The owner restaurant recommendations, especially Tune-up Cafe, La Casa Sena Cantina, and nearby Harry's Roadhouse, were quite good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finickytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My sisters and I stayed at Ravens Ridge while on a road trip to celebrate a 60th birthday. We couldn't have made a better choice. Phyllis and Judge are great inn keepers: good conversations; lots of knowledge about the area, local birds and astronomy (telescope available); interesting decor; skylights to the stars. And did I mention the view from the hot tub?

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I just returned from a much needed R&R trip to Santa Fe.
We had the pleasure of staying at Ravens Ridge, a lovely bed and breakfast home just on the outskirts of Santa Fe. Judge and Phyllis are one of a kind. They truly know the meaning of hospitality. From the warm welcome as we arrived, through our departure as Judge checked our tires and Phyllis provided snacks for the road, the entire experience was simply wonderful. Five star in our book!
We enjoyed a beautiful room with a kiva fireplace and a view of the stars. The first night of our stay, Judge shared his passion for the night skies with us as we viewed Jupiter, the moon and the many constellations from the back deck. Each morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast, beautifully presented in their bright sunroom. Birds entertained us as they enjoyed the many feeders just outside the windows of the dining area. We enjoyed our conversations each morning with this charming couple.
The home is a visual treat designed with artistic touches throughout. The eye of an artist is present in each room's decor while maintaining a restful and comfortable setting. The sheets are like heaven on earth!
We were provided a pass to allow us to park right near the square in Santa Fe.
This allows you to experience the best of both worlds; the relaxing and beautiful setting of Ravens Ridge along with the close proximity to Santa Fe. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will be back! Thank you Judge and Phyllis!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely. The Starlight is quiet and has a wood burning kiva fireplace. The Casa would be wonderful for longer stays. Ask Phyllis and Judge to help you choose the best room for your needs.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachMoneyLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My boyfriend boyfriend and I, along with two other friends, just spent three fabulous nights at Ravens Ridge. Owners Phyllis and Judge are superlative hosts which, aside from a great breakfast and clean room, is what a great B&B experience is all about. They were so accommodating and wanted us to know we could call anytime if needed. I don't expect perfection when I stay away from home, kind of unrealistic. But what I do look for, and return for, is excellent service. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Although we stayed in the casita, my boyfriend and I would have been just as satisfied in either of the other two non-casita options. Our friends stayed in the Starlight and Garden rooms and were beyond happy. The Starlight room is at the back of the property and closest to the jacuzzi, if that's your thing. The casita's television is located on the buffet in the dining area. I would have preferred it to be in the bedroom or wall mounted in the living room instead.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banana7Lakewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews