We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - We had a fun time”
Review of AdobeStar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AdobeStar Inn
Ranked #30 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This was the second visit to Adobe Star and we will stay here again. The location is super convenient to the Plaza and the neighborhood was quiet. The breakfasts were great and Una was very helpful regarding local hikes, attractions, etc. The February special rate made it a great deal as well.
We wanted a B&B with a wood kiva fireplace and they had a few rooms that fit the bill. And they conveniently provide firewood with fire starter and matches for a very reasonable price. Very nice for those cool February nights.
We would recommend this B&B!.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottW263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at the Adobe Star Inn in January, and had a wonderful time. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. We had breakfast each day and it was always yummy! With the Innkeepers information of the city and surrounding areas, they just about planned our days. We will definitely come back next year in January, great rates and the inn is very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRNSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This is tough review to write because the location is superb--you can walk to Plaza and hence don't need to search for (or pay for) parking place. But the B&B itself is shabby, neglected and it seems like there is no owner around. The girls who make and serve the breakfasts are very nice but they are not knowledgeable, don't know where things are or what to recommend in the area. There is no substitute for an onsite experienced manager who cares about each guest and sees to your comfort. Most of the time, there is no one there to ask anything of, no way to know what to do when someone else parks in your assigned parking spot (cars are towed here on a dime!) It feels kind of like the owners are just looking for what they can get out of the place and not putting much back in. If they don't want to run this business, they should sell it!
Still that location is great!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were not prepared for dragging suitcases over uneven, narrow flagstone walkways. The place is a work in progress with the "courtyard" filled with leaves, dead plants,and dust. We were told this area was "going to be filled with small pebbles. The front yard was totally a mess and unkept with prickley bushes snagging our clothing as we waled on the sidewalks. The self serve check in was not welcoming and we had trouble using the coded door opener. Our view was an unfinished open storage area. This, too, was to be finished "soon". Our unit was the Black Mesa and, although small, could have been OK if only more attention had been paid to the details.. We reported two lights out upon entering and these were replaced. A couple of days later, there were more lights out and after leaving messages (No host is onsite) these were replaced. We had no box of tissues until the day before we were leaving. Sheets and towels were "tired looking" faded brown. The sheets were not changed daily and the bed was not even well made with lots of wrinkles, not what you expect of a quality B&B.
We walked across the street to the sister property for breakfast. The owner came in and greeted a group of return visitors, We were sitting at the same table. He did not acknowledge our presence. So much for appreciation of our business and warm hospitality. The breakfasts were at best predictable. Each morning a quiche like egg dish was served with a 3" triangle of cantaloupe or honeydew, a small glass of orange juice, and a very small muffin. Coffee was, for the most part ,"serve yourself" but was good coffee. One morning a man asked for a glass of milk and was told "we only serve the orange juice". The table was crowded and the napkins varied from cocktail size to luncheon size.. The cook/server was Nellie and quite pleasant.
The location is very good and an easy walk to the central bus station and plaza. This was the only good part about staying at the Adobe Star Inn.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Floridatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed in the NE casita during Indian Market - admittedly a peak weekend. The location was great but still...the unit was way overpriced. Since when does a unit that hasn't been upgraded for 25 years command top prices of $200+? It was relatively clean but everything - the bed, the sofa, the kitchen -- was old; the rugs needed laundering and the sheets needed replacing.

We had just come from a charming casita in Dixon, where everything was new, so this unit was a let down. Next time we'll stay north of Santa Fe or in Albuquerque which is much more affordable and take the RailRunner north for Indian market. Now that there's good mass transit to Santa Fe there's no reason to pay outrageous hotel prices.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,663 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AdobeStar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AdobeStar Inn

Address: 222 McKenzie St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1831 (Formerly Spencer House)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $178 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
AdobeStar Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing