We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was the perfect place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
San Juan Island Country Color
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
San Juan Island Country Color
Street View of driveway Cozy, private quiet bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
San Juan Island Country Color
Street View of driveway
Cozy, private quiet bedroom
Cozy Comfy Bedroom
Comfy Pillow Top Queen Bed with many pillows
Forrest in the Fog
Private Bathroom
Bathroom across the hall from Bedroom
Shower view
Spring Blooming tree
Sitting area by bed
Desk area across from bed
Towels & Robe for the tub, just outside your door
View of Hot Tub from your door
Gardens by Bedroom
Robes
Hot Tub
Madrona trees
Front garden
Spring Blooms
Front gardens
Farm around the corner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CQuis
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Three nights in Mom's garage....”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Ruth greeted us in her robe and hair towel. Her kitchen is off limits even though she advertising the kitchen. The grill is in the garage with a rusty grate. She did try to accommodate our cooking by getting the grate out for us to put on fire in pit in front yard. Mom checked on us after we ate; nice but weird. Hot tub has a curfew of 9:00 p.m., so don't plan on a romantic night with wine & laughter in there because lights out when Mom says so. Make sure you don't wear your shoes in the house because you will be scolded. The bed is a mattress and box springs on a frame with no headboard; very basic, but for the price it is OK. We were gone hiking all day, so it would have been nice to sit in the hot tub afterwards, but since her place is on the other side of the island, not much time left over before curfew to relax in hot tub. Being on the other side of the island is nice since it is quiet. Ruth is kind, although, does not offer much privacy. Her living room is next to your bedroom, so feels like staying with your parent's garage apartment. Basically this was a one car garage converted into a bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bed was lumpy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2013
Wow, perception is everything. Guest check in is usually done in town at my business, this guuest checked much later in the day, and as I was home. I decided to meet my guests, and was more concerned with getting face time, than what I was wearing
Previous guests contact me prior to usung the kitchen in my home, so may prepare. This guest just started loading the kitchen fridge up and then told me they intended to cook salmon in the kitchen. As I find the lingering odors of cooked fish unattractive, I offered the guest a solution of a well used grill, a brush and a firepit to cook on as no charcoal was available for the weber, put wood is plentiful.

And yes, much later in the night I check on the guest, as there was alcohol, an open fire, and fairly dry conditions conditions
. From my perspective, I was being a good host and making sure all was well in my guests world.

As to all other comments, most situations have rules, suggested behiors in place... as does this rental... repect for each guests privavcy and my privacy is very important for all.

After, this incident, the house kitchen is no longer available for guests.
Plenty of time for romance and adventure, as the time for the hot tub is far more casual
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeanette...
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Okay place to stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ruth was extremely accommodating and very low key. This is in the country ( nice and private) on the west side of the island just a few minutes from Roche Harbor ( great place for din) and 20 minutes to town. The room had a very comfy bed, desk, fridge and coffee pot. The private bath is across the hall. No TV which was okay for us because we like to read at night. One desk chair and one other chair. Highlight was the private hot tub under the stars.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickypers...
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet secluded room”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great getaway that's away from the hustle and bustle of Friday Harbor. The whale watching park is halfway between the home and Friday Harbor. It's a bit far from the town, but the ride is beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet and private,
Liked least: Nothing. I liked everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing