We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Jacob the Valet Manager” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Ranked #23 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Killeen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jacob the Valet Manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Jacob the Valet Parking Manager has no customer service skills and is very rude and inconsiderate! Upon arriving at the hotel on the 19th of March there was a sign in front of the parking garage stating "hotel customers only" Jacob was standing outside with 2 of this staff members. We pulled up to the sign and Jacob stated " go around the sign" we tried to make our way around the sign and hit the corner wall and damaged our vehicle. When we hit the wall, Jacob sent his staff over to move the sign so we could properly manuver in the Garage. Once we parked and moved our belongings to our room, my wife and I went to confront Jacob about the incident, he told me "I did not touch your vehicle I am not responsible." He then turned his back and walked away from me. My wife was upset and she confronted him and he stated harshly "look lady! I did not touch your vehicle now have a nice day." and walked away from her. I notified other managers on duty that day and they confronted Jacob about the situation. Jacob later called my room and stated "even though i handled the situation poperly i want to appoligize for the way i handled it." He also said he would get us a incident report for the inusrance company and never did. I asked about the incident report 3 times that weekend and nothing was done about it. On a better note the room was good, the food was good, and the comfort level of the hotel is good. The only problem I and my wife had was Jacob. I would put his last name on here so everyone staying here will steer clear of him if he don't get fired.

Room Tip: Parking Garage sucks and hotel will not help get your car fixed if it is damage due to negligence of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickJan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear NickJan80,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    293
    147
    69
    69
See reviews for
254
278
30
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel on a business trip. The front desk customer service I received upon check-in was poor to say the least. I have also overheard some of my colleagues complain about the level of customer service they also received upon check-in. The rooms are acceptable, nothing fantastic and the location is good depending on the reason for your trip. If you are interested in the Riverwalk and site seeing I would imagine that this would be a reasonable location. Please be prepared to wait at least 5minutes or upward for an elevator seeing that they only have 4 to service 20floors of rooms.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MzButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
MzButterfly,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed 5 days and they were able to put a small refridgerator in our room. My husband is a smoker and almost all hotels on the Riverwalk are non-smoking. This hotel was able to let him smoke on the balcony, which was a very good compromise. It is a half-mile walk to the Rivercenter Mall, which is a small, but nice mall to shop in.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Riverwalk is great! I think it will be rather noisy no matter which side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrielok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hotel right on river walk, making most things within walking distance. Room was clean and had a balcony view of the river walk. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, had suggestions on were to eat. Breakfast and dinner where very good at the hotel, plus priority club discount. 23rd floor has a great view of the city.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Have stayed here a couple times - always found the rooms to be very clean and the staff to be accommodating. Great location; right on the Riverwalk; and walking distance to all points on the RiverWalk. Morning Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
#46 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Property: Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Address: 217 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): $173 - $372
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing