We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic with fresh breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic with fresh breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Nice stay with convenience to site attractions. The rooms were tidy and clean. The only problem is if you book online through priceline they may not place you in the bed type you "requested." The breakfast was filling with make your own waffles, cereals fruits and juices!
The only complaint is that the staff weren't well-trained about the history of the hotel, hence, the stay wasn't "excellent."

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buoywin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    619
    202
    48
    40
See reviews for
415
715
91
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
274 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Whoever designed the atrium of this hotel knew nothing about accoustics. We unluckily had a room overlooking the atrium. (Half of the hotel's rooms do this.) The hard floor, brick walls, and glass ceiling all magnify all sound in the lobby. We could hear every conversation 4 floors below. The first night a person decided to practice the piano at 4 am. The second night we had barking dogs. And last night, the bar was full, with loud customers right below until well after midnight.
I value my sleep, because I am here on business, and have long days.
If this doesn't bother you, then this is the place to stay. All of the good things the other reviews have said are true--great location, quaint, historic building, etc. But if sleep is important, don't let them put you on the atrium side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Alamo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We think of our guests as visitors to our home and feel badly when their stay is not above their expectations. Obviously one critical aspect to any stay is a good nights sleep.

We will take steps to address the issues you mentioned in your review. We have signage on our piano preventing its use until after 10 am each morning. Our staff will watch more closely during late night hours so people do not decide that this is a good time to play on the piano. The bar entrance door may have been left opened, allowing the bar activity to be heard in the lobby. We will ensure we keep this door closed in late night periods as it is intended.

Thank you for your otherwise positive comments. We will continue to strive daily to improve our hotel product and service to provide the best accomodation for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We made a good choice when we reserved a room at the Crockett Hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and well kept, the towels were large enough to actually be used and the water pressure was just right. There were several choices for breakfast and it was very good. The hotel is across the street from the mall, the Alamo and many of the local attractions. It is 1 short block from the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Crockett Hotel after your recent stay.

We enjoy the opportunity to provide a historic hotel option in the heart of the city of San Antonio. Our location and unique property have kept many visitors coming back time and again.....for over 103 years.

We look forward to future visits of you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The staff at the Crockett (especially Shirley) went out of their way to make my 60th birthday get-together a great experience. Sixteen of us stayed there in eight rooms and everything worked out perfectly. We all had rooms overlooking the Alamo, which was neat, and we used a large room off of the lobby for my surprise party. The location is great and the free breakfast was a plus with a wide variety of food....the Texas shaped waffles were delicious! Everyone said they would definitely stay there again. Thanks for helping make my 60th such a fun event. Bob

Room Tip: Ask for Room 508....it is larger than the other rooms that we saw with a king sized bed and a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having never been to San Antonio previously I really didn't know what to expect from the Crockett, but I was pleased with my choice. The clerk at check-in was very cheerful and helpful, as was nearly all the staff I met. The clerk at check out was less cheerful, but then it was way too early an hour for me too! The location, right across from the Alamo is great for exploring the downtown area. Cost was very reasonable for the location, considerably less than some other hotels in the area. The room, while certainly less palatial than some others, was certainly large enough for my needs. The included breakfast was very good with eggs, fruit, cereal, waffles, yogurt, toast, pastries, etc. My only minor complaint was that the phone was not working, something I didn't discover until I didn't get my wake-up call on my final morning of my four day stay. Luckily I'd also used the radio alarm, which worked just fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DX2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): $187 - $316
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TravelClick, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing