We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 132
USD 126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
USD 162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
USD 251
USD 244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Alamo Suites(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 122
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 184
USD 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk(San Antonio)
Free cancellation until 03/08
USD 209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
USD 145
USD 134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 149
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,740)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveller rating
988
463
159
76
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
463
159
76
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationgarden tubhaunted hotelalamo viewthe river walkwarm cookiesdouble treedirectly across the streetvalet parkingbeautiful hotelwithin walking distancehistoric buildingvalet servicegreat roomconvention centerupon checkoro
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Our room wasn’t ready when we checked in at 4pm. We waited almost an hour after a day of traveling. One out of the two lobby elevators was out of order. Just not worth the money. Also, dirty room service trays littered the hallways all day.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank stephencP2012QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Emily Morgan Hotel - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Stephen,
We aim to provide a relaxing stay for our valued guests and are disappointed to hear this was not your experience. Please accept our apologies for the wait during check-in and for one of our elevators being out of order; repairs are being made. We also apologize for the room service trays in the hallways and will share your comments with housekeeping so improvements can be made. You've provided a few opportunities in your review that we can take advantage of to increase guest satisfaction so thank you for reaching out. We hope to provide a better value next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during St Patrick's day weekend. The hotel is in a good location bout 2 blocks from the river walk. The staff at this hotel was great. I have stayed at plenty of Hilton properties and this is one of the best. The room that I had was nice but you could tell it had some wear and tear. The biggest issue that I had was that the hotel had only 2 working elevators. Due to it being St Patrick's day weekend and spring break for some this hotel was packed. There were times we had to wait 15 minutes for the elevators. I spoke to some employees and they said they're waiting for some parts from overseas and that the elevators had been down for months. I wish I would have been told about the elevators being broke when booking this hotel. Another issue about this hotel is that they don't have a refrigerator in the hotel room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sds1442016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Emily Morgan Hotel - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your concern regarding the elevators and are sorry that you experienced some delays. As you noted, we are taking steps to correct the issue. It sounds like the remainder of your visit was otherwise up to the standards that you deserved and we look forward to building on those positives during a future stay! Visit us again here in San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

I am a Hilton Diamond member and have stayed at hundreds of properties in the Hilton chain. This is by far the worst hotel i have stayed at. The staff is rude the property is run down and the room is tiny and dirty. Stains on the carpet, bed not made, mold in the shower. I realize there are some reviews that state this is a nice place. Ignore them and stay anywhere but here. I am not a person to write reviews but I feel it's my duty to warn travelers to avoid this place. Absolutely horrible hotel!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mward54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole S, General Manager at Emily Morgan Hotel - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Mr. Ward:

Thank you for writing to us about your experience at our hotel and thank you for being such a loyal Hilton Honors guest. We truly apologize we were did not meet your expectations which unfortunately led to you checking out shortly after check in.We realize that you were anticipating a complimentary upgrade and we are very sorry but despite our best efforts we were not able to fullfil your request due to not having the availability. We take pride in our cleanliness and offering exemplary service so it is very concerning when any deficiencies are found. We will definitely share your concerns with our team so we can assure future guests do not have a similar experience. We do our best to make things right in order to exceed the guest expectations so it saddens us to know that in your case we fell short. We are very sorry and we are hopeful you were able to enjoy the remainder of the weekend. I am hopeful for the opportunity to speak to you in an effort to gain your trust back in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at Kole.Siefken@Hilton.com. We hope that you will give us another chance so we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Checked in and room was cold. Apparently you can choose heat or air because to get heat, maintenance had to come up and make the switch in the room with a ladder. Room was not cleaned 3 of our 8 days because we were told they were understaffed. They have 2 guest elevators and 1service elevator. 1 of the guest elevators was inoperable all 8 days and the 2nd guest elevator became inoperable for the last 2 days of our stay. Hot water failed on the 8th day. Someone was able to access the internal phone system calling guests apologizing for the hotel systems being down and asking guests to give name, address, and credit card info over the phone. We have stayed at this hotel for many trips to San Antonio but cannot go back unfortunately. It is a very historic building but perhaps too old for a hotel any longer, perhaps it should convert to a museum.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole S, General Manager at Emily Morgan Hotel - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Barry:

Thank you for writing a Trip Advisor review about your experience in our hotel. We apologize for all of the problems you experienced as they are not within our usual high standards. I will be reaching out to you to gain some additional information so we can hopefully have you as a return guest soon. We will also share your review with our team members for training and see to ot we show immediate improvement. Thanks again for letting us know about your experience and we are hopeful we can gain your trust back in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

The beds were comfortable, location was awesome. Housekeeping did not really clean our room very well and even forgot totally to clean it the first day. Had to ask the front desk for clean towels. No mini refrigerator in the room. Poor valet service. The valet actually had me go to the front desk to ask what he should do. Several electrical outlets in the room did not work. Wall paper was peeling off of the bathroom wall. Dirty towels were left in the same spot on the floor for three solid days. Never collected by housekeeping. It was just below expectations for a hotel that appeared to be upscale. I have had better service and amenities at less expensive hotels. There are similar hotels in town. I will try one of those on my next stay in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank r0hi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole S, General Manager at Emily Morgan Hotel - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for letting us know of your experience in our hotel. We are very sorry for your experience and we will definitely take corrective measures immediately so that future guests do not have the same. I hope to speak to you further about your experience in hopes to gain your trust back in our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and please contact me at your convenience at Kole.Siefken@Hilton.com. We are hopeful that you will give us a second chance to improve on your experience and you will not ice the improvements we have put into action.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews