We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a distance from the Riverwalk action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #36 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have stayed at other Hyatt Place hotels and was pleased so I decided to give them a chance on a recent trip to San Antonio. Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good discount rate. Free parking in the lot out front. Very good high quality breakfast - better than most hotels by far. Good coffee. Like all the Hyatt Places they have a small bar and cafe in the lobby that offers simple fare 24/7. It is located directly on the Riverwalk per se, but far from the action. Their section of Riverwalk is attractive with trees, etc. but it is about 1/2 mile walk to the busy sections where the shopping and restaurants are. Most guests would likely walk a few blocks down the street to get to the action spots. I can see where the other reviewer said that a single female might feel uncomfortable doing that, esp. at night. The walk would be too far for anyone elderly or with kids that cant walk far. However, the walk will save you an average of $20 at night as that is what the other hotels charge for valet parking. The room was very large, had a desk, wi-fi, big flat screen, good AC, microwave, quality in-room coffee, a decent mini-fridge. Everything was nice, fresh and attractive. I like the idea that they provide real glass and real mugs for drinks, even at breakfast they have real plates and silverware - not styrofoam. The room cleanliness was average as there were a few long hairs in the tub. Yuk. The bathroom is very small. A large person or someone wrestling with kids in the tub might find it way too small. Overall our pleasant was good. Quiet. Nice hotel. Nice grounds. Good views to their section of Riverwalk. Nice jasmine trellis on that side. I would stay here again if I were looking to save the parking fee and was okay with the walk. If you want to be steps from the action and are willing to pay the valet fees you might want to chose somewhere else closer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

952 - 956 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We needed an inexpensive room for 5 nights as we were in town for a tennis match. I have stayed at La Quinta on the Riverwalk for slightly cheaper but the Hyatt Place was much nicer. The rooms were huge....almost too big. More room should have been given to the shower/toilet room. It was very small. The staff in the hotel were very professional, helpful and courteous. Jasmine and John introduced themselves and gave us a brief tour of the facility. The parking was free (a huge plus for that area), free breakfast and free internet room with printer. WiFi was also free. There was also a small pool and work out facility. The location on the Riverwalk was great. A short but pretty walk down to the main hub of stores and restaurants. The breakfast was much nicer than the usual fare. Loved the cooked oatmeal with nuts and dried fruit.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up than 3rd floor facing the Riverwalk
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbgdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Yes this property is on the Riverwalk....but there is nothing around it. You have to walk a few blocks to find some of the action. It wss pretty pricey for the location, but the hotel was decent. I've stayed in much nicer Hyatt Place properties for much cheaper. Staff was friendly but the espresso machine was broke. You are able to walk to the river walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I like Hyatts and the comments from other reviewers that said the hotel was good to very good were ones I would agree with. It is one block from the Alamo and on the riverwalk. The bedding has the nice white cotton duvet and starched sheets. The rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

First room we entered had spots of food on the comforter. They were accommodating by moving us to another room , However that room was not clean either, there was something sticky and gooey on the ottoman and behind the ottoman was trash. This was just disappointing , I didn't feel comfortable sleeping in bed because they obviously don't wash there comforters so whose to say they actually change there sheets after a guest stay? He breakfast was pretty good and overall the staff was pretty nice . But compared to other hyatt I have stayed at this one is not he best .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anwhiteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,103 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,131 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $159 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing