We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par with the one in Grand Prairie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #40 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I guess I shouldn't be surprised, but the decor of this hotel was nearly identical to the Hyatt Place in Grand Prairie, and the building plan was completely identical. This location, however, dropped the ball right at the start.

We booked on line, and made a request for extra pillows, and extra coffee in the room. When we got to our room, there were no extra pillows, and no extra coffee. Other than that, the hotel was pretty much the same as the one in Grand Prairie, but the employees in Grand Prairie were more friendly, more accommodating, and more eager to serve.

Other than that, the hotels were identical, comfortable, and neat. Just note that, due to location, the San Antonio Hyatt Place costs about twice as much, but it is directly on the River Walk, and easy walking distance to many attractions, (including the Alamo), and many, many places to dine. The location, and the way it facilitated getting around was worth the extra cost.

One final note that may or may not have affected service is the fact that there seemed to be a lot of elementary students and their families staying at the hotel who seemed to be in town for some type of cheer leading event. Most of our floor was taken up with accommodations for these people.

I would like to note that the San Antonio Hyatt Place had a superior hot breakfast. We don't eat meat, but, if we did, this place offered three varieties of breakfast sandwiches served on English muffins.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel - that side is directly on the River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,038 - 1,042 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel is clean, the people super nice and it's very close to the Riverwalk, in fact you can walk from there to the Alamo & la Villita too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our room had a nice balcony w/ chairs that overlooked the river, which is right behind the hotel. If you have kids, the Hemisfair park is about 1/4 mile. Beautiful trees with benches where adults can sit & watch the kids play in the wooden castle playground. I believe there are also a few covered picnic areas. A little further walk to the convention center, Alamo, and several restaurants. Even though our room was right beside the ice maker & elevators, we didn't hear a thing. Air conditioner was constant but that was ok with me - it did not cut in & out which can keep me awake. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is very small and the sink is outside the door - which weirded me out a bit since I couldn't wash my hands before opening the door. Breakfast is high carb so if you are diabetic, be prepared to pay for a made-to-order breakfast, which is a nice option. I didn't expect the complimentary Starbucks coffee so that was a real treat. Accesible panel made it a breeze to hook up our computer & play movies through the TV and recharge the cell phones - bring your own cables. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great view of the river from the back of the hotel - balcony & chairs included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room was pretty nice but nothing special. The bathroom was tiny (toilet and shower really close in a tiny room). Kids liked that they could order waffles until about 11 am and they were only $4.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineandTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Was recently in town for a conference and our group stayed at the Hyatt Place, very comfortable hotel and complimentary breakfast and internet was an added plus. Overall enjoiyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich-Rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,275 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
2,093 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
3,616 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $165 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing