We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, poor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #62 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 August 2017

It was a very nice hotel, great staff which was extremly helpful. They accomodated us to a different room with a nicer view and more space.
The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable.
The hotel is located right on the Riverwalk, but at the very end of the "touristy" area. Going back to the hotel from the main area was a bit of an unpleasant walk since right at the corner of the Riverwalk was where the "nightly home drinking crowd' gathered, begging etc.
The thing which I felt was substandard for a Marriott was the pool and the area around. The pool was very small and felt cramped, felt like it was like an afterthought to put one in when the hotel was finished. All around you could see beautiful pools at other hotels, mainly on rooftops and the sun shining on them.

Room Tip: go up high for better views, ask for city skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micha1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Nice lobby and halls. Direct access to river walk. We stayed on the 15th floor. Don't expect to see the river walk from your room. If there are rooms that have that view, they are probably few.

The staff was extremely helpful and attentive to your needs.

The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The air conditioning worked well, adjusted easily and was quiet. However, the size of the room was tight with the bed, desk, couch and couch table.

The one draw-back was basically the same for most hotels on the river walk. Parking. The hotel had parking for about $30 a day. Just 3/4 of a block away was a pay-parking garage for $10 a night. Warning on the $10-day parking - VERY tight curves and little space for cars to pass each other or back out.

Room Tip: We expect there are not many rooms with a view of the RiverWalk. We opted for a higher floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Missouri_Guy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Customer service and room was top notch. 903 has a river view and a balcony but unfortunately the construction site across the river starts activity sharply at 7:00 AM even on Saturday. I enjoyed watching the heavy equipment but the wife was a bit annoyed. Still a great stay. Plush and super comfy bed, super clean, great location, and maybe the nicest people I have ever met working it. Outstanding actually. Construction is a problem currently but there is nothing they can do about it.

The walk to the Riverwalk action is short but it is a bit sketchy all day long with bums and druggies. We just told them we don't carry cash and they did not push us further.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank spyle31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The furniture was dated, shower a little weak, and sheets a bit coarse, but it completely satisfied my primary requirement... a good night's sleep! The room was very quiet, important to this light sleeper, and the mattress was nice and firm. The staff was also very friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Patinca29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
draolv, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk with us.

As the cleanliness and the comfort of our hotel are key priorities, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service. I am happy to share the hotel will be undergoing an extensive renovation starting in September, a number of the challenges you identified will be addressed and corrected.

As a valued guest we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

D. Rao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

There are a number of positive things about this Marriott property. Location offers the perfect walking distance to every site downtown, direct access to the River Walk, room with a balcony overlooking the city, and the house service staff were very friendly.
With all the restaurants and bars nearby it was not too surprising when the bistro/bar had limited hours and fare.
$25 cab ride to the airport and there is no need for a car if you plan to stay in the downtown area.

Room Tip: choose a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#36 of 357 in San Antonio
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 207 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#86 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $207 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk hotel is centrally located next to shopping and dining on the historic San Antonio Riverwalk. The spacious guest rooms in our San Antonio hotel offer sweeping views of the city and are only minutes from popular attractions, including the Alamo, Majestic Theatre, the Alamodome and Hemisfair Park. Unique among hotels near the San Antonio Riverwalk, our state-of-the art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy the amenities of our San Antonio, TX Riverwalk hotel, from catching up on work in our business center to relaxing in our pool or staying in shape in our fitness center. It's a new stay at the Courtyard Riverwalk hotel by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing