We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intresting”
Review of The Alamo

The Alamo
Ranked #2 of 231 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1718 as Mission San Antonio de Valero, for over 300 years the former mission now known as the Alamo has been a crossroads of history. Having existed under six flags of independent nations and served as a garrison for five different armies, the Alamo has a rich history and a heritage to inspire Texans and people around the world. Although the Alamo is best known as the site of the 1836 Battle of the Alamo, all 300 years of Alamo history are vital to our story. Visitors can take a guided battlefield tour, rent a self-guided audio tour, walk through the historic Alamo Church and Long Barrack Museum, listen to a history talk given by an Alamo Interpreter, participate in living history demonstrations, watch a documentary on the history of the Alamo, and much more. Admission to the Alamo is free, but there is a charge for guided and audio tours.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

There is not a lot to see here anymore but it since worth the 30-45 minutes to spend here and see the church and the gardens. Plus it is free unless you want a guided tour or audio tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Hondo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 955 reviews
"texas history"
in 1,005 reviews
"gift shop"
in 984 reviews
"long barracks"
in 303 reviews
"piece of history"
in 406 reviews
"davy crockett"
in 210 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 214 reviews
"historic place"
in 170 reviews
"great history"
in 343 reviews
"love history"
in 187 reviews
"across the street"
in 398 reviews
"bucket list"
in 188 reviews
"lots of history"
in 240 reviews
"history lesson"
in 200 reviews
"take pictures"
in 210 reviews
"the river walk"
in 421 reviews
"alamo"
in 10,141 reviews
Filter

1,664 - 1,668 of 17,143 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My family enjoyed a couple of hours at the Alamo, which is free by the way. The lessons that can be learned there about sacrificing your life for something that you believe in were inspiring. Be sure to check out the video in the theatre telling the history of the mission.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 163kristah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Let me start by saying that I am not a history buff. However, I was somewhat underwhelmed by the Alamo. It's in the middle of the city, across from a very touristy set of Ripley's Believe It or Not excursions and t-shirt shops. It's also very crowded. If history is your thing, you would probably enjoy it. It's just not for me.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank southernbelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It's easy to find, it's beautiful to look at, history is always worthwhile in my book and it is free. It was busy the day we attended, during the Final Four BB tournament and Graduation Day at the Air Force basic training. The grounds are beautiful and it is was so meaningful to me, as the mother of an AF Vet to see all the young Airmen in uniform with their parents. It's an easy walk from the River Walk so go. Was I disappointed at the size? No. That's just silly.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank NancyFance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The Alamo is well preserved. It is a lot smaller than I had imagined. It is free to get into the Alamo, but the audio tour costs money. You are free to walk through the Alamo & the grounds as you wish. The museum has a lot of items in it, it was interesting to look around and read about some of the articles. There are several things to do near by also. We were there for the Final Four, so it was pretty busy, but the line to get in moved really fast.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alamo also viewed

 

Been to The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing