We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a wonderful visit and stay at the Hawthorne Hotel in Salem for Valentine's weekend. Although we had been to Salem several times, the stay at the Hawthorne Hotel made for a beautiful and convenient location. From the moment we stepped into the lobby of the hotel, the staff was pleasant and courteous and anticipated any questions. Just a walk around the lobby and through the halls to get our room was giving our eyes a workout. There is so much history and description for the historic town we were about to embark on during our visit.
Walking to and from the local amenities was easy. The staff recommended local establishments for food, shopping, refreshments and entertainment.
However, we couldn’t stay at the Hawthorne House and not try Nathaniel’s dining. We enjoyed the appetizers , salad and Steve’s Seafood Chowder at the end of our walk about town. The Apple and Butternut Squash Risotto was out of this world. The breakfast in the morning was second to none. The lobster, asparagus with fresh brie omelet was so good that my husband said delicious didn’t even begin to describe it. For my two egg breakfast, the chef kindly obliged my request for home fries cooked to my liking (no onions or peppers) and our breakfast was complete.
We will definitely be back to Salem and Hawthorne Hotel will be on our list of essential visits.
Thank you!
Christine & Stephen Sullivan
Narragansett RI

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sullivan140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan,

What a fantastic review! Thank you so very much for taking the time to tell other travelers about your experience here at the historic Hawthorne Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Your review will certainly be shared with our TEAM here at the hotel, and especially with the people who made your stay special.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    448
    116
    34
    44
See reviews for
517
711
97
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I visited the Hawthorne Hotel Valentine's weekend. With Salem and all of its activities we were able to visit the center of the town with just a short walk from the hotel. Because of the renovation that was happening to the Hawthorne, our room was fully refurnished as well as upgraded. We enjoyed 2 queen size beds, 2 closets, and 2 full size bathrooms for the decent price of only having paid for 1 queen! We dined for dinner in the Tavern and ordered 2 appetizers thinking it would feed us. We were fully surprised to how big the portions were to point of the 2 of us not being able to finish either appetizer; the price for our food was more than decent! The next morning we had reservations at Nathaniel's for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. That was amazing in itself. The food was beautiful and the portions, again, were more than we expected. The jazz performers were an excellent touch and made for a very romantic brunch. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had the Bertram room was the perfect fit for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj73091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear mj73091:

Wow, you really experienced it all, here at the historic Hawthorne Hotel. Thank you so very much for sharing your excellent review with other TripAdvisor members.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed each and every aspect of your visit and especially that you enjoyed our food and beverage service so much. We do enjoy an excellent reputation for dining here at the Hotel, in both the Tavern and in Nathaniel’s, as well as our banqueting department.

Just one small detail – a Bertram room only has one queen-sized bed, so if you had a room with two beds and two bathrooms, it could only have been a Derby room. Our best suggestion is to call the hotel directly to reserve a room if you have any doubts at all about what would be the best fit for your needs. We are always available to answer questions and give guidance.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again, and thank you again for the lovely review.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here September 2011 and found everything about this hotel EXCELLENT the Staff, the Ambience, the Restaurant and location. We would definately recommend this place. Don and Jean Geelong Australia.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HumanJukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear HumanJukebox:

While your review is brief, it is nonetheless very helpful. You touched on virtually every aspect of what makes a hotel stay a great one. Your headline is very telling, and we sincerely appreciate the time that you took to let future travelers know where to stay in Salem, Massachusetts.

Thank you so much,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just before Christmas, Miss Pattikins(our labrador retriever) and the rest of her family(my husband and myself) stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel to attend Salem's annual historic houses tour. We were graciously welcomed at the hotel, with special gifts for our dog. The hotel's lobby and surroundings were festively decorated with a myriad of poinsettias and sparkling lights for the holiday season. Our room and bath(part of the "pet package") were cozy but very comfortable and thoughtfully appointed. The staff(front desk, housekeeping and restaurant) couldn't have been more pleasant. Parking was provided by the hotel, and it was easy walking distance to Salem's highlights, including the outstanding Peabody Essex Museum, as well as dining and shopping. We look forward to our springtime visit to Salem and our next overnight stay at the delightful Hawthorne Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwk60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear wwk607 45:

We love pets! We are so happy that you love yours too, and that you appreciate our “pet floor” and special pet amenities. Thank you for painting an excellent picture of what staying at the Hawthorne Hotel is like. We are certain that future travelers will be well-served by reading this careful and thoughtful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the spring.

Kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We make it a point to stay here at least once a year, just to get away, and have done so for the past nine years. Our most recent trip was another reminder of just how unique the Hawthorne Hotel is. This historic property has a charm that simply can't be found in newer properties. The attention to detail in the wood paneling, the working fireplace in the lounge, the large fresh flower displays in the lobby all help create an atmosphere that is warm and comfortable. Everyone on the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food is well prepared and the rooms are most charming. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Paul H:

Such a perfect review! Thank you so much for the excellent review of the Hawthorne Hotel. We are sincerely grateful to have repeat guests such as you, and want you to know how much we appreciate your kind comments.

You paint an excellent “word picture” for other travelers, and I know from my own personal experience in looking at other on-line reviews how important this kind of review can be to others.

We will certainly share your kind remarks with our staff, as we want them to keep up the excellence that you point out. We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon, we hope!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
8.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.5 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
4.8 km away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
16.5 km away
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Square West, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price range (per night): $206 - $315
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing