We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs and things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I ran out of starbucks coffee cups left in the room... maybe you are wondering why this is important. The reason it's important is because I was using them to put over these crazy bugs that coming in the room. They were some huge beetle like thing and by the end of my less than 16 hour stay there were 3 alive and 1 dead beetles. You might also be wondering how many were there when I checked in... there were 2 in the room when I arrived. 1 dead, 1 alive. Now, I know this is the desert and I used to live in Tucson but my final destination for this trip was also in Tucson and it didn't have any bugs so I assume that the Westin could do something to fix this.

Otherwise, the hotel was ok for what I paid. I didn't eat at the hotel. Getting around via the golf carts was annoying but they were quick to get to the room. It needs to be remodeled.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your posting. We work diligently to have our rooms clean, along with keeping the unwanted desert creatures outside. Currently we are remodeling and our renewed guest rooms soon to be ready for you to enjoy. We hope you may return to La Paloma in the near future to relax by the pool, dine or enjoy a round of golf. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,857 - 1,861 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Okay resort but not of the quality you would expect. Restautant for dinner okay but lacking choice and poor service - had to ask for butter three times. The worst service was from the room cleaner. On checkout day, she knocked at the door early and rudely abruptly said "Are you still here, I have lots of rooms to service and you are delaying me, how long will you take?", this was two hours before check out time. She also knocked on the room next door and they said they couldnt understand what she was saying but she was abrupt and rude to them. Fifteen minutes later she was back at the door again asking when we were leaving. She then stood outside the door waiting. I dont expect such a rude room maid at a resort like this. Reception were also slow so I would recommend the staff go on a customer service course. Room dated and had a musty smell too. Not cleaned very well prior to our arrival - would expect much more.

Room Tip: Refurbishments going on so hopefully the well worn rooms will be updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your comments as your feedback is always appreciated. I apologize and would like you to contact us directly for your next stay. Our guest rooms are being renovated right now we would like you to see the updated, remodeled guest room. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Rooms smell.Carpet spotty.table uncleaned with food crumbs from,presumably,previous guests.Air conditioning vent with stains of water dripping down.Asked for room change which was done and this had the same problems....except no food crumbs. Who the heck gives these guys five stars. Have stayed in many hotels and resorts. This is the second worst.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodbuffs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your posting. We hope you will stay at La Paloma soon to see our remodeled guest rooms and enjoy the hospitality at the pool, The Red Door Spa or a round of golf. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Despite the fact they are going through a renovation right now, I go to this hotel every time I am in the Tucson Area. The surrounding location in Northern Tucson is beautiful! The staff was excellent, and during my stay (which was also incorporated a trade show in their main ballroom) I could not believe how wonderful the customer service was. (William Arce!) Thank you!

Room Tip: The Rooms on the EAST side have incredible views of the mountains..Make it easy on yourself and vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for posting why you enjoy La Paloma for your trips to Tucson. We appreciate your loyalty and will be waiting for your next arrival to welcome you with a refreshed resort. You’ll have to let us know how you like the remodeled guest rooms. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Well just when I thought it could not get any better is sure does. Margaret Warner is amazing and always takes care of me this is my favorite Westin in the Nation... Fernando Manzano in catering, caters to all of our needs!!! We have being doing business with them for 7 years and they always are on top of everything with out Margaret and Fernando the Westin would not be the same!! Kudos to Donal for always making sure we are taken care.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank noellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for posting how our team keeps you returning every year. We will be here ready to provide the great service from start to finish for your next event. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
10 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,010 reviews
6.3 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
8.8 km away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
16.8 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $245 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing