We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

After reading many reviews here regarding the Westin in Tucson, it seemed like a very nice place and I was excited to stay there even if it was only one night. After booking the room ( I choose a Master Suite because I have twin two year olds) I was impressed with all the follow up by the Westin prior to my arrival to see if I had any special needs. When I booked the room I requested two cribs and two high chairs, when the person in charge of guest relations emailed me I made the same request, and when I spoke with the guest relations person on the phone I again made the same requests. I suppose I should have been suspicious since each time my requests seemed news to them!
When we arrived, there was only one crib, I wouldn't have minded if they hadn't made such a point about it and if I didn't have two crying and exhausted toddlers to deal with on top of getting the other crib and high hairs to our room ASAP! It took several calls to get the second crib and several more calls to get the dirty and sticky high chairs. Everyone was very nice when I spoke to them but nice doesn't cut it when you're paying $350/night. The fridge was broken in my room so I took my ice chest to the ice machine ( so my kids milk wouldn't spoil) and the ce machine was also broken. Took 3-4 calls and about 45 minutes to get ice brought to my room.
Saving the worst for last, this was the last straw for a supposed 5 star resort, the ROOM SERVICE was an absolute insult. First the menu itself seemed really basic but that doesn't always mean it will be bad ( I was an Executve Chef for 14 years). I ordered a med well hamburger that arrived RARE, also a pizza that arrived burnt...and tasted like a frozen pizza, so so bad. My kids food, was normal hotel boring and pretty bad. I thought maybe I would eat their food since they were so tired they fell asleep without eating. It was most definitely not good food, reheated frozen chicken strips and over salted fries, the grilled cheese was fine.
Every issue I had I explained to them over what I felt was an absurd amount of phone calls. Again they were VERY NICE but good service is more than being friendly, EXECUTION is everything. Paying the price I did I thought I was guaranteed to a smooth and relaxing night after an exhausting day of travel....but I should have picked the high places I know well, Loew's, Four Seasons, etc.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your posting and I am truly sorry that we were not able to provide you the experience you expected upon your arrival. It is always unfortunate and concerning when any guest is disappointed. We appreciate your comments, as this will enable us to review so we may improve. We would like you to return to La Paloma I’m sure your children will enjoy the slide and pool.

We wish you continued safe travels….remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    561
    246
    135
    71
See reviews for
649
638
110
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The purpose of this trip was to spend some time with our grand kids and give our daughter and son-in-law a little vacation from their daily grind. Overall, we were happy with our choice of La Paloma Resort. The grounds were beautiful; the rooms were spacious and comfortable, if dated; the breakfasts in the Azul Restaurant were delicious, and the staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. We mostly ate dinners off the property, but the one dinner we had at Janos was very good. So why not five stars? One of the important reasons we picked this resort was the waterslide for the kids, yet when we checked in we were told that it was down for maintenance. We had reserved the Deluxe rooms because they were supposed to have nice views. We also requested connecting rooms, but the only ones they had were at the far end of the property with a nice view of the parking lot. Also, the heat did not work in one of the rooms. (We moved to non-connecting rooms the next day) The wireless connection was pathetically slow, making it impossible to watch streaming video and difficult for our son-in-law to conduct business. (Small business owners don’t really get complete vacations) And finally, on the last morning it took us about an hour to get breakfast, because the computers were down!?! (I didn’t know computers could cook.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeraSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for posting about your recent stay. I hope you will call us directly when you return to Tucson to visit family. Let us assist you personally with providing the service for a smooth, relaxing stay. We hope to see everyone around the pool this summer watching the kids on The Slidewinder. We wish you continued safe travels….remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Okay this one was a nightmare. We arrive at 830pm, proceed into lobby to check in. Lobby is disorganized, and smells. To boot there is six front desk stations being worked. Y 1 Orr 2 staff, usually one. I wait in line 25 plus minutes. Upon getting to desk, I am told they do not have the suite I reserved with the king bed . Anyway I took the suite at basically 500 per night.
I get to the suite , it is filthy and unmaintained generally. The decor is from the 80's and it is just ridiculous.
I call the manager- he says sorry sir we are bankrupt and have been unable to maintain or renovate. Wow. Honestly in one blow. We left the next morning. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. Even if you hate the in laws , dropping them there would just be too cruel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colorblind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review as we work diligently to understand where we may have fallen short. It is not in every instance that we find fault as we go back through the process, though we do not argue your perception as noted in your review. That said, we were able to identify the manager that you spoke with upon arrival and feel confident that we made every effort to work through your concerns from the time you arrived. There are rare instances that even with our most diligent efforts, we are unable to close the gap. It appears by your review that this was the case in your particular instance and/or experience. For that I am sorry and assure you that in all that was reviewed, it was evident to me that it was not from a lack of trying.
Lastly, though importantly, I stand behind my team and hotel to say that the bankruptcy has long since been settled and never has been nor should be the source of a poor guest experience. That said, we have currently started renovations as noted by other loyal TripAdvisor fans. We are excited about what lies ahead for the property and in the meantime, make every effort to deliver on a great guest experience. Please contact me directly at the property should you consider returning again. Until then, remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Last weekend we drove about seven miles from our Tucson home and had a phenomenally relaxing mini vacation at Westin La Paloma. We went for a late lunch at Azul and sat inside at a window with soaring mountain views and glimpses of folks basking in the sun by the pool. We felt as if we had traveled afar. We ordered a phenomenal scallop salad that was prepared perfectly. And we reconnected with a dear colleague from 10 years ago - Mario - who waited on us attentively and even comped our wine. We strolled around, found a shady deck and sat there savoring the good time. Then we chatted with a charming clerk in the gift shop - where I scored a silk scarf for 75 percent off. This was an amazingly tonic retreat - and just what we both needed. We'll definitely do this again - and soon. Sometimes a mini-vacation in your own back yard is just the ticket.





We went to La Paloma for lunch at Azul and sat inside at a window with soaring mountain views and glimpses of folks basking in the sun by the pool. We felt like we had traveled afar. We ordered a phenomenal scallop salad that was prepared perfectly. And we reconnected with a dear Westward Look colleague from 10 years ago who waited on us and comped our wine. We wandered around, found a shady deck and sat there savoring the goodtime. Then we had a delightful chat with the woman in the gift shop - where I scored a silk scarf for 75 percent off.



This was an astoundingly tonic retreat - and just what we both needed.


We thank you again for this wonderful gift. We'll definiately visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your comments of how we provided a magical retreat without the usual excessive time, stress and cost of traveling long distance. We’re just a call away for your next getaway. We hope to hear from you soon. We wish you continued safe travels….remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesMoines, IA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The beds were absolutely the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. When it rained, we used the recycle bucket in our room to catch the water coming in from the ceiling. We reported the leak and was told it would be looked at & they would call us on our cell. The bucket of water remained there, untouched until the next day. They never called us and never offered a new room. Housekeeping~There were 3 of us in our room...me, my husband and our daughter...for the first 3 days we had to keep calling to get shampoo...housekeeping wouldn't leave any. When we went to work out, we were on top of one another as the workout area is underconstruction and all equipment was shoved into one small area...very uncomfortable. Beautiful setting, but building showing its age...hence the water feature in our room. The bright spot....Sam Squires! She was the most positive hard working employee we met there (although all employees did smile). She understood how to service a customer..she deserves a 5 star rating!

Room Tip: Dont pay to up grade to a better bed because it wasn't any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your posting. I do appreciate the feedback, as this will assist us with servicing our guests. We have exceptional associates as you mentioned. We are ready to welcome you back soon, smiling and eager to serve you. We wish you continued safe travels….remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
9.6 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
6.1 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
11.6 km away
Omni Tucson National Resort
5.9 km away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): $207 - $486
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Starwood, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing