We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guacamole was yummy! ”

GRINGO grill + cantina
Ranked #119 of 2,228 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: USD 3 - USD 35
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Providing the finest Tucson Cuisine. Using fresh, local ingredients at an unsurpassed value, in a fun casual atmosphere. Many believe our patio to have the greatest views in Tucson.
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The house margaritas rock and so does the guacamole. Of our table of three: 2 orders of chicken enchiladas--very good, and 1 order of fajitas... all enjoyed.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank LisaT109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Manager at GRINGO grill + cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thank you for sending us your feedback about your dinner experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the food as much as the margaritas. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

was not very busy for a Friday night...appetizer was very tasty and just the right amount for one. Husband ordered a fajita which was different but good. Keva was on and could be seen from the bar. We travel a lot and like to talk to others in the bar...

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Manager at GRINGO grill + cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and that your food was tasty. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Emilio especially deserves many thanks for excellent service and a sense of humor. My family enjoyed sharing guacamole, tacos, fajitas, and the pear salad--all delicious. The staff was welcoming, even on a night they could have been out celebrating. We appreciated the relaxed atmosphere.

My only suggestion is to make a few minor repairs to the older booth seats so the seating of this large restaurant equals the cuisine and personnel. But you won't even notice something like that once you eat the food!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mccartj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Manager at GRINGO grill + cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and providing honest and constructive feedback. We will be looking into repairing the upholstery you have mentioned. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The bone in rib eye on the website looked delicious, so we headed over for dinner tonight. At 6:30 they were already out of the rib eye??! I was disappointed but we both ordered the mesquite grilled pork chop special. As a starter we ordered the Pear salad.
ABout 10 minutes had passed, no salad and honestly we were close to getting up and walking out....when the salad, and main course arrive all at once.
I let it pass, something obviously went wrong in the timing.
The perfectly cooked thick pork chop was delicious and the slow service was more or less forgotten.
Food that good deserves service to be as good. The hostess spent more time sitting and talking to 2 quests, or family than keeping an eye on what was going on.
Should they clean up a few things, and make sure the service, and timing of the food is on point.....the word might get out that there is a hidden gem of restaurant waiting for discovery,

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lrpubl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Owner at GRINGO grill + cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. We apologize that we did not have the item you were looking forward to having. These occasions rarely occur. We are however glad you were happy with you substitute selection. We appreciate your feedback as we use these comments as training opportunities to grow as a restaurant. We will be addressing these issues and hope to improve our service. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We are guests of La Posada Lodge - staying for a week, which is next to Gringo Cantina in part because of the excellent food (taste and presentation), and the very efficient - and friendly service. The full staff is very nice; our servers (Rilee, Autumn, and Jose) were especially nice. And the young man who cleans the tables (does a very good job) will make a good server one day, too. The menu was varied enough that we just kept coming back most nights of our stay.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidaytraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Manager at GRINGO grill + cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience each and every time you came to our restaurant. The young mans name is Joe by the way. Please be sure we will pass this review on to our staff to let them know they are doing a fantastic job. Hope you come back and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GRINGO grill + cantina also viewed

 

Been to GRINGO grill + cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing