We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful, beautiful drive.”

Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway
Ranked #1 of 270 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We left Tucson at 10:30 and returned at 5 p.m. We meandered on every turnout, campground, picnic spots. Did not take the trails as we are not hikers, but there is plenty of opportunity. Lots of restroom stops, Ascends to 9,000 feet. Stopped at the small town at the top and had an ice cream in the restaurant there. Beautiful weather. Stopped at a pop up bazaar of Indian crafts. Jewelry, wood carvings and Christmas bulbs painted with Navaho or Hopi scenes .

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 61aah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 277 reviews
"ski lift"
in 148 reviews
"degrees cooler"
in 117 reviews
"ski area"
in 106 reviews
"pine trees"
in 102 reviews
"windy point"
in 90 reviews
"cookie cabin"
in 63 reviews
"general store"
in 92 reviews
"summer haven"
in 47 reviews
"catalina highway"
in 36 reviews
"rose canyon"
in 31 reviews
"climate zones"
in 38 reviews
"iron door restaurant"
in 26 reviews
"rock formations"
in 105 reviews
"desert floor"
in 91 reviews
"sky island"
in 39 reviews
"escape the heat"
in 46 reviews
Filter

265 - 269 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Loved this beautiful drive. The change in the scenery was so interesting..we downloaded the Mt Lemmon app which made the trip even more interesting. Also the advice that someone had to ware the wrist bands if you get car sick was great, never had a problem.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

If you are not biking up Mount Lemmon, a drive is nice too! We brought a picnic and had lunch at one of the look outs along the way. Beautiful views, lovely day. Keep in mind it is much cooler up there. Very cool to see the changing landscape as you get higher.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sallycassells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

To think that in the distance of 27 miles you can travel the equivalent of the deserts of Mexico to the forests of Canada is amazing. There are plenty of opportunities to stop and take photos of the incredible vistas.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank w00dy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Great trail! We biked from Moilna Basin past mile marker 11. the 2nd Bug Spring/Green Mountain parking lot (very small). from there we hiked our bikes 30 minutes to the top and started riding. very technical at the top and other sections (I consider myself intermediate and I walked my bike a few times), the ride crosses the road below the lower bug springs parking lot (don't start there), then the ride goes through Prison camp down to Molina campground. If we weren't so exhausted from getting lost a few times on the way up and the 6mile ride up a mountain, this trail would have been amazing! take lots of water and food if you are not shuttling. we ran out of water and food. Great ride though!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank angelac932016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lemmon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing