We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must for history buffs”

Presidio San Agustin del Tucson
Ranked #72 of 320 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Presidio San Agustin del Tucson Museum is a re-creation of the Tucson Presidio built in 1775. Visitors travel back in time to learn about life as early Tucsonans would have lived it. Docent tours discuss life in the Santa Cruz Valley for early Native Americans, Presidio residents and Territorial Period settlers. See the archaeological remains of a pit house, walk along the original Presidio wall and experience a 150 year old classic Sonoran Row house. $5 adults, $1 children 6-14 and Free for children 5 and under and Presidio Museum members
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

El Presidio was high on my list of places to visit in Tucson because of my love of history. I was thrilled to learn the day I visited was a celebration of Arizona's entrance into the Union in 1912. The place was full of living history reenactors...Buffalo soldiers, Mexican soldiers marching about & firing the cannon, women cooking delicious treats & a musical group performing. Even on an ordinary day it is worth the price of admission just to learn about Tucson's early history. Best to go on a nice day as it is mostly outdoors.

Thank Kanilea361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, Public Relations Manager at Presidio San Agustin del Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Presidio Museum on one of our Living History Days! Thank you for your review, and please tell your friends and family to visit us as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"living history"
in 9 reviews
"turquoise trail"
in 5 reviews
"early history"
in 4 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 4 reviews
"spanish soldier"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating glimpse"
in 2 reviews
"indigenous peoples"
in 2 reviews
"parking lot"
in 2 reviews
"reconstruction"
in 7 reviews
"fort"
in 12 reviews
"cannon"
in 7 reviews
"recreation"
in 8 reviews
"soldiers"
in 7 reviews
"constructed"
in 7 reviews
"docent"
in 12 reviews
"life"
in 15 reviews
"buffs"
in 5 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The Presidio is the beginning place of European history in the Santa Cruz valley. But before the Europeans arrived there were indigenous peoples here, for thousands of years. The Presidio has the remains of a pithouse of some of the oldest. There's also the recreated NE bastion of the walled 11.5 acre fortress. And a couple of Sonoran row houses. Several different living history and other educational programs. Check the website often for the schedule.

Thank W Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, Public Relations Manager at Presidio San Agustin del Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please return again soon and tell all of your friends about the Presidio Museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Three different "live" displays of history were fascinating: two guys doing mini-foundry work showing off how folks created iron works 150+ years ago; the guy who dressed like a Mexican soldier and had great history of the times; and the guy who dressed like a U.S. Army soldier from the 1880s/90s and described the clothing & lifestyle of the period. My wife and I are definitely history buffs, and this place IS history.

Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

With my husband and mother-in-law we walked thru this great recreation of the 1775 Presidio. There was a docent that gave us a brief history of the area and the Presidio. We happened to be there when they had a group of kids there so they were doing lots of demonstrations. Really enjoyed seeing all the different aspects of living during that time. Well worth going.

Thank sheepmama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Not an interesting visit. There is not much there. We also took the trail and that was too much walk for nothing. Take your car

Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Guest Relations Manager at Presidio San Agustin del Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to the Presidio Museum! We take pride in offering a quality visitor experience that teaches something about history and the natural environment of Tucson. We hope our visitors have a chance to enjoy a docent led tour or an interpretive demonstration but sometimes they are not available.

The Turquoise Trail is a walk through downtown highlighting local history and architecture but for some, the 2 1/2 mile walk is long. Additionally, it is true that downtown Tucson is undergoing extensive construction and change and not all parts of the walk are full of historic ambiance.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Presidio San Agustin del Tucson also viewed

 

Been to Presidio San Agustin del Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing