We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sonoran Desert Location"”
Review of Cat Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cat Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We just spent two nights for our short stay at Tucson. If you main focus is go to the Desert Museum, Mission and Saguaro NP then this is definitely the place to stay. Its just a few minutes from all of these attractions as well the fabulous sunsets at Gates Pass.

Spencers Suite was roomy, comfortable and very clean and well-kept. The entire property is nicely maintained with many nice plantings and art pices scattered about.

One of the best features is the meals at Coyote Pause, adjacent to the Lodge. Your room comes with vouchers for breakfast or lunch and this is a convenient option and a great value! The food was very good.

Also a big thumbs up for Robby and his star tours at the observatory. He is very knowlegable and the three hour tour was filled with great views of the heavens and lots of information. Don't miss it!

Thanks for everything Angel. We'll be back next time we are in Tucson for a more extended stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysanibelcondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

Not only is Cat mountain a beautiful, peaceful and friendly place to stay, but we had the most incredible guided tour of the Universe in Spencer's Observatory. Robby spent about 4 hours with us, showing us stars, clusters, planets and galaxies. We had loads of questions as we are both Brian Cox fans, and he was happy to share his vast knowledge wth us. It's hard to imagine a better opportunity to view the stars through such high quality telescopes, in such perfect conditions with such personal service. Worht staying at Cat Mountain for this alone, we would say!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolanngneist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed four nights in Spencer's Suite and it was utterly quiet and peaceful. The beds are perfect. We enjoyed the courtyard and the scenery very much. We even signed up for a nighttime observatory session--$100 for 3 hours for 5 people, and Rob was a great host and even attached our camera to the telescope and made sure we got fantastic pictures. The "breakfast" part of the B&B is at the neighboring cafe, Coyote Pause, and it was very tasty and offered plenty of choices. The location was ideal for us--we wanted peace and quiet and dark skies, and loved being in the desert next to Saguaro National Park. If you're all about nightlife, just know that it's a 10+ mile drive into the heart of Tucson.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Four of us, all intrepid amateur astronomers visited and stayed at Cat Mountain Lodge as part of an Astronomy trip to Arizona. I found this B & B on the internet and was attracted to the desert location and the fine personal amenities. All the arrangements were made over the phone with the delightful and ever so helpful Angel (a most fitting name).

The rooms are large and very tastefully appointed in a desert theme. The beds were very comfortable enabling a very restful and quiet sleep after the evenings activities.

Located next to the Lodge is the restaurant where breakfast was served. My friend is on a quest to find the quintessential Huevos Rancheros. He had theirs both mornings and declared them to be the best he had eaten, ever!! And he is renowned for his own production of this morning treat. They also serve dinner on weekends which is supposed to also be a real highly desired and sought after event.

In addition to the charming accommodation there is a roll off roof astronomical observatory with two pedestal mounted telescopes and a knowledgable guide to facilitate a nights observing. We spent two nights doing astrophotography and visually exploring the winter skies. A spectacular time for us. Rob was helpful beyond measure!! He brought over some of his own equipment to augment the ample equipment provided at the observatory. Rob went out of his way to make sure we had a wonderful experience.

I almost regret giving this review as I know it will make it more difficult to book it for myself, but Angel and staff deserve every success as a testament to their hard work and dedication.

Cat Mountain Lodge is already booked for us for next year. Four rooms for 4 couples for 5 nights. We more than doubled the length of our stay this year. Great rooms, a great observatory, great food, a quiet location and a helpful staff. We know a gem when we see it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalaxyHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Only one year old, Cat Mt. Lodge is minutes away from Desert Museum and Tucson Mountain Park (with it's great trails and scenery). The rooms are attractive and comfortable. The spacious grounds are attractive and include a chimenea where we enjoyed an evening stick fire now and then.the owner is adding landscape features, sculpture. Lovely sunset sky, charming central courtyard, and friendly staff.
Food arrangements with nearby cafe add good value, and the food is hearty and tasty.
Highlight for us: on site OBSERVATORY where a knowledgable guide is available to help you study the heavens. One drawback: sound travels between some of the rooms. I understand they are working to improve this situation. Fortunately, they tend to attract quiet folk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guidovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
18.5 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
989 reviews
21.3 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
794 reviews
6.7 km away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
30.2 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
22.0 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Mountain Lodge

Address: 2720 S Kinney Rd, Tucson, AZ 85735-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2009, our beautiful 13 acre eco-friendly bed & breakfast offers a vintage ranch setting with 5 spacious rooms, a mix of Southwestern comfort and modern conveniences. We also have a guest house available. Nearby artisans shopping center, telescope observatory, cafe, hot tub, nature trail, labyrinth, and desert tortoise enclosure makes Cat Mountain Lodge a fine destination for locals and traveling visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados so you can book your Cat Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing