We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Catalina View Casita-Walled Courtyard and South Entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Catalina View Casita-Walled Courtyard and South Entry
Catalina View Casita-Queen Bed with dresser Catalina View Casita-Bathroom with Tiled Walk-in Shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Catalina View Casita-Walled Courtyard and South Entry
Catalina View Casita-Queen Bed with dresser
Catalina View Casita-Bathroom with Tiled Walk-in Shower
Catalina View Casita-Kitchenette & Dining Table
Catalina View Casita-Entertainment Armoire with Satellite TV & DVD player
Catalina View Casita-North Entrance & Deck with patio furniture
Catalina View Casita-Indoor Pool
Catalina View Casita-Typical Sunset
Desert View Ranch
Views of Saguaros
Mountain VIews
Quail View Casita entrance & Deck w/ patio set
Quail View Casita liv rm during day
Quail View Casita entertainment HDTV
Quail View Casita Kitchen & desk
Quail View Casita Living room
Quail View Casita bedroom
Quail View Casita bathroom-view 1
Quail View Casita bathroom-view 2
Quail View Casita-Delightful trees & redwood deck
Desert View Casita-Front Entrance
Desert VIew Casita-Gas BBQ & chaise lounge
Desert VIew Casita-Outdoor dining with views
Desert View Casita-dining room with great mountain views
Desert View Casita-Bedroom with California King bed
Desert VIew Casita-Bathroom with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tucson, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
edrocks11...
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Studio Room with basics. Inexpensive and Fair”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
7
people found this review helpful

Pool was not available during winter and is actually the main house owners pool for use of their family. Door posted in picture is the main houses patio area, with children using. Back door is deck with nice view of Catalina Mountains and Mt. Lemmon and Rincon Mountains.
Dirt driveway, and Studio is not very private. I stayed from Dec. 1 thru Mar. 31 and was fine for the stay. It is in a very nice quiet Ranch surrounded area !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Owners family children and grandchildren playing all around
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doughope3...
Vancouver, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great People... Bad Place... not TRUE CASITA'S”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in May 2014
8
people found this review helpful

Went to see both my grandkids graduate...selected this place as it was close to everyone... mistake... Unit was NOT as advertised... no stove... basically no kitchen... pool filter noise, right outside door, was over bearing... other reviews talk of desert views... Having lived in Tucson for over 10 year all I saw was dirt driveway and scrub trees... I know desert views... this was not one... was there for one week... and would definitely not recommend this place... any of them as they are not Casitas... Sorry just being honest...

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Dear Guest, I was sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your 8 day stay. You never mentioned any problems while you were here. I was surprised to get your email nearly 8 months after vacating to let us know. I know I asked if there was anything you needed at least 2 times. If you would have let us know while you were here we would have been happy to try and remedy any situation. The pool pump could have been turned off for the 8 days you were there or changed to run one hour during a time that was convenient for you. Most people love the lush desert, considered to be one of the lushest deserts in the world, with the huge mesquite trees just outside but there is no grass like you have in Vancouver, WA where it is always lush because of the amount of rain you get. I know I emailed you a one-page description of the casita prior to your finalizing the reservation on the casita, and it clearly states the following: Lightly equipped Kitchenette with new dishes, silverware, pan sets, pyrex serving dishes, coffee maker, crock pot, electric skillet, waffle iron, toaster/oven, double burner cooktop, microwave, and refrigerator.” The photos show exactly what kind of kitchenette is there. We have since added a gas BBQ with a gas side burner if guests prefer gas for cooking. If you had mentioned any of these things to us we would have been happy to try and make some changes to make you stay a more perfect stay while here in Tucson. -Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smindy
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed 4 nights in the Catalina View casita. The Catalina View casita is at one end of the building between the pool and the Desert View casita. It has a deck with a table, chairs and grill and a peaceful view of the desert. The third casita, Quail View, is located at the opposite end of the building below the Desert View casita.
The Catalina View casita is a spacious, open studio decorated in warm, inviting colors. It has a large bed, dresser and cabinet, TV armoire with a nice sized TV and Dish Network (it was a little difficult seeing the TV from the bed), chaise lounge (good for reading, relaxing and TV watching) and table with 3 chairs. The room also includes the kitchen area with a sink, refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven and standard dishware. Because the refrigerator is in the same room, you can hear it running at night. That doesn’t bother me, but for light sleepers it is something to take into consideration. The temperature is controlled by central air and there is also a ceiling fan. Even though I was there in the fall, it was unusually hot (the temperature was in the high 90s) yet the room stayed nice and cool. The room has a large picture window looking out to the rear of the property (where the deck is located) and another one looking into the pool area. The indoor pool area is quite large. The pool was closed while I was there. There is a door in the casita that opens into the pool area. The door is located right across from the bathroom. The bathroom is a decent size with a lovely walk in shower, rain shower head and heat lamp.
The casita is located in a very quiet part of town. You rarely hear the traffic. A quick drive down the road will take you into town and anything you need (stores, restaurants, etc). The owner lives in the house in front. The casitas are separated from the house by a courtyard. If people are in the courtyard talking or playing, you can hear them in the Catalina View casita. There are quiet hours from 9-9 so it shouldn’t be any problem for light sleepers.
At night, the driveway into the casitas and the parking areas are dark until you get to the lights that turn on with motion sensors. I bought a small flashlight for that extra bit of lighting.
My experience here was great and I would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The openness of the room
Liked least: A little too dark outside from the parking area to the room
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLinky
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely property! We had the desert view unit with the wrap-around balcony. The scenery and wildlife were amazing. We brought our hummingbird feeder from home and Joyce graciously allowed us to hang it on the balcony. Lots of hummingbird action! Also, many other birds on the property. (I left a list in the desk for anyone who was interested!)

The location was great - not too far from shopping, close to Saguaro National Park (which we visited several times a week, especially to take the loop drive around sunset).

Our bed was very comfortable, every appliance imaginable was there.

Yes, the roosters were loud, but in an amusing way (There's those darn roosters again!)

Parking was a little tricky, but we got used to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: one thermostat for all 3 units
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Az
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
11
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Dear Guest, I was sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. You never mentioned any problems while you were here. I was surprised to get your email nearly 2 months after vacating to let us know. I know I asked if there was anything you needed at least 2-3 times. If you would have let us know while you were here we would have been happy to remedy any situation. The pool pump could have been changed to run one hour during a time that was convenient for you instead of the 3-6 pm that it was set at or the time lessened. No one has ever complained about that or about the neighbor’s rooster that is about 700 feet away. Since you were here the neighbors have moved and their rooster as well. Before you came we had a queen bed in there and decided that everyone would appreciate an upgrade of a King Tempurpedic Memory foam mattress so spent the money for that but no has said anything about a ridge down the middle of the bed out of 6 couples that have stayed there. We tried to accommodate your cats but had to remove the luxury comforter and linens and we removed all the area rugs so you could have your cats come with you. I know it looks better with those items in there but you volunteered to bring your own linens so we didn’t have to have everything dry cleaned or thrown away. You mentioned to me that you scheduled the vacation to get out of the cold mountains and warm up down here. Then when you left a week early you said you were leaving because it had been the warmest winter on record at your home in the White Mountains and there wasn’t a need to stay longer. If you had mentioned some of these things to us we would have been happy to make changes to make you stay a more perfect stay while here in Tucson. -Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing