We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay in exceptionally noisy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay in exceptionally noisy hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This Marriott looks OK, is reasonably well situated and is blessed with very warm andf helpful staff. The problem is shoddy construction of the building itself. The rooms are small, cramped with all of the furniture, and very poorly insulated for noise. I heard a lot from both my next-door neighbour (in spite of the absence of connecting doors) and my upstairs neighbour - clearly not their fault but that of cheap construction. And harshly slamming doors in the corridor all night (the hotel was hosting a convention). I expect (much) better from a business hotel. The very least one hopes for is a good night's sleep. No such luck!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Frequenttraveller076,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. We, too, feel blessed for our amazing staff. We have a super friendly team and hope our guests feel the same way that you did. I do want to address your unfortunate experience with noisy neighbors. There's nothing worse when you just want to get some sleep. I apologize for your experience and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    373
    176
    65
    34
See reviews for
396
254
53
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is not a super luxury hotel, but it has everything that made my stay perfect. I arrived late at night to a friendly reception. Parking is free and convenient to the location of the room. There is a wonderful free shuttle service every half hour which will take you to anywhere downtown or to Brown University. (When you are ready, you call them for pick up back to the hotel.) They accommodated me by taking my granddaughter back to her dorm when she was with me. There is a great exercise room, indoor pool, large breakfast buffet, apples all day, apple cider in the evening when you come in, and a warm, helpful staff across the board. I can't wait to return for another visit.

Room Tip: If you are interested in the pool or gym, you should ask for a room in that wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Marilyn G,
Perfect hospitality...we're blushing. We are so pleased to hear you had such a lovely visit with your granddaughter! We are also pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much at the Providence Marriott Downtown! Our complimentary shuttle service is awesome and helpful to our guests. We want our guests to be able to park their car (for free) and then relax and let us take them where they need to go in the shuttle or to enjoy a leisurely walk to nearby shops and restaurants.
It will be our pleasure to serve you every time you come for a visit with your granddaughter. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is one of those large hotels that surrounds a pool and outdoor area. You get your daily exercise just walking from the lobby to your room and if you need to go back you'll wish you had a golf cart.
The lobby is very nice with a great bar and good looking restaurant (didn't partake). Our group used the catering by the hotel and the food, breakfast and dinner, were very good. A step or two above the normal hotel food. The service was also very good.
Hotel is very close to I95 and near the convention center and the "Vet".
The room was quiet, clean and well stocked with the usual amminities found in hotels today.
The exercise area was very well equipped and there is an indoor heated pool.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiwithapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Skiwithapro,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with our Trip Advisor readers. We're so pleased to hear that your event went well and that our banquets/catering team took such good care of you. It's also great to hear that you loved our food! We appreciate that you shared with our readers that our location was so convenient for you. We are constantly updating our fitness facility to suit the needs of our guests. Stay tuned - new personal training services to be announced shortly. Thanks again for taking the time. We appreciate you and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a couple of nights while travelling down the coast. On arrival the young guy behind reception told us we had been upgraded to a suite and it was stunning!!! Moments after arriving in the room we were brought a bottle of prosecco and chocolate coated strawberries. It's made our day and was really appreciated. The hotel itself is fab, beautiful indoor and outdoor connected pool and a nice bar. Staff were very friendly including the concierge and guy who drove the complimentary bus, which was a bonus also. Would def stay here and recommend it again. Also there is a hairdressers onsite !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear po,
Congratulations again on your wedding! We love to help our guests celebrate memorable moments - anything we can do to make it a little extra special is our pleasure. We truly appreciate when our guests take the time to share their wonderful experiences with our Trip Advisor readers. It's also great to hear that our staff helped to make your stay more memorable. We hope to see you again very soon. Our outdoor pool opens in May (so does our outdoor lounge - voted best in Rhode Island, AQUA) and we hope to see you over the summer. If not, maybe a special visit for your first anniversary! Note: Our full service salon & spa is called G Salon and Spa. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was going to send my comments directly to Marriott, but could find no way to do that on their website, so here we go...

First, let me say that all the staff I encountered at this hotel were very nice. My room was inhabitable, but far below usual Marriott standards. Old furnishings ('80's vintage?), stains in multiple places, a door with a jiggley latch and a gouge on the front (as if someone had tried to kick it in), an extraordinarily loud heater, hair in the bathtub and on one of the (supposedly clean) towels, and a tissue box with only 6 tissues in it (and no refill). That said, I slept well. Maybe the heater drowned out noisy neighbors!

Not terrible, but "motel quality", which is not what I expect when paying Marriott prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear JohnPW,
Thank you for commenting on our associates and the positive impression they made on you during your stay. We also appreciate your feedback about your hotel room. It is unacceptable when our guests feel that the quality of their room does not live up to (if not exceed) Marriott standards. I would like to discuss your experience with you when you have a moment. You can contact me directly at jdahler@marriottprovidence.com or call at 401-553-0409
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,474 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,033 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price range (per night): $233 - $446
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Marriott, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing