We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My girlfriend and I just got back from a two day stay at Murphy's and we were very pleased with the service we received. The staff was helpful and friendly and afforded us every possible hospitality. Our room was spacious and cozy, with a huge bed with more than enough room for both of us. We had a nice TV to watch with a couch and recliner to relax in. Everything was clean and presentable. We enjoyed a soak in the hot tub the last night we were there, and enjoyed the continental breakfast on the morning we left. The river flowed right next to our balcony and provided a wonderful ambiance for us to sleep to. We even caught a peek of some elk grazing across the road. Murphy's is in close proximity of the main strip and one could easily walk there if they were so inclined. We will definitely be revisiting the next time we're in Estes Park.

Room Tip: Get one by the river; Bring some plastic ware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your review ! We are now leaving bowls and plasticware in the Hotel rooms for our guests convenience. That was a great suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    255
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
402
534
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were put in the room above the main office, which was very creaky and musty. We were supposed to have a room on the river but they did not have the room we reserved when we arrived. They said they could up charge us to a different room by the river but we felt the amount we were already paying was overpriced. My mother checked in separately from us and she was checked into a riverside room and paid LESS than we did because she complained and had reserved a less expensive room that also wasn't available.

In addition, there is a small indoor older swimming pool. The chlorine was so strong it burned our eyes just sitting in the room watching the kids swim.

We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunky40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
I noticed that your stay was in June of 2011. I am guessing that you booked on line with Expedia and did not understand what room you getting. We offer over 8 different types of rooms and you probably assumed you had a River Room without talking to anyone at our Lodge. Our River Rooms do cost more and our value rooms are much cheaper. The room above the office is priced substancially cheaper and is designated a value room. We have had many people stay in the A, B or C rooms and were very happy in their newly remodeled rooms. The fact that you waited 10 months to write a review tells me that you are probably just bored and had nothing better to do. We take a lot of pride in our Lodge and will always provide a great service and experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed the night over the weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and receptive. Our room was clean and very roomy. My favorite part was the bed. I slept like a baby. It was so comfy. Didn't want to get up the next morning. Large mini fridge in room. Right on the river. Would be a great place for family reunions/group retreats, etc. The continental breakfast in the morning was great. Lots of variety. Again, staff was very friendly. The great room where the breakfast was served would be fun to hang out in and play games, read the paper, look at the views. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kneuharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at Murphy's River Lodge while we were in Estes for a wedding. They welcomed us like family. The room was clean, and the bed was super comfy! In the morning we went up to check out the breakfast, and the community room was a terrific surprise. Tables, games, TV, and food. Very cool.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My girlfriend and I has SUCH an amazing trip! The lodge staff was so great! I asked to have a rose and a letter I had written be place on the bed before we arrived, and they went above and beyond and even framed the letter! The breakfast was excellent, the pool and hot tub totally rocked, and the location was perfect! Best lodge we've ever stayed at, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.1 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.3 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.1 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.2 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price range (per night): $152 - $298
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing