We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when we got to the Saddle and Surrey. Someone else had booked it and when I looked it up I was a little skeptical. I am not an outdoor type person and want things clean. The room was very clean, bed was nice and towels were thick.
Not many outlets to plug in things, and bathroom was a little small, but it worked for what we needed it to. It was always clean when we came back at the end of the day. Breakfast included rolls, muffins and pastries, good for something quick.
If I was headed back to Estes I would look into staying there again.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the south side (#1) and the parking was not great - we had to park on the oth...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Saddle & Surrey Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the motel on a Saturday in September, when most hotels and motels in Estes Park were booked up or required at least a 2 night stay. As we were just passing through on our vacation we were pleased to find the rooms. As stated in other reviews, the motel is older, but well kept and very clean. My wife, and the other people that were with us were most pleased with how the place looked and was kept. If you want a reservation with this motel, call the motel directly and don't try to do it online.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Well it's more than that but as a business (frequent) traveler who spends a lot of time in hotel rooms when my wife and I are looking for a place to stay at some holiday destination, the last thing we need or want are the so-called "extras" which cost a bundle and are never used. We spend the whole day out and return late in the evening so we're never going to use or be interested in the Five Star extras. We don't need the mint on the pillow, the turn down service, the valet, the lounge, the golf lessons, the wine steward and whatever else the top dollar hotels give you which may make you feel like a millionaire and cost as much.

The Saddle & Surrey met our requirements perfectly. Clean, comfortable bed, good working and clean shower and bathroom, comfortable AC unit and spacious room. To top it off, we rented the kitchenette and all appliances were clean and in perfect working order. We broke our fast in the room and prepared our "sack lunch" for our daily excursions into Rocky Mountain National Park and the full size frig. in the kitchen area served to keep our fixings fresh.

Good working wireless Internet access right in the room is a must for me as I wind down in the evening before bed. It worked perfectly. As did the large screen (flat screen modern) TV for my wife's benefit.

In the office they served coffee and a nice assortment of common "Continental Breakfast" fare though we were only able to take advantage of this one morning as otherwise we were out on our day well before the office opened. Our issue, not theirs. We're just early starters.

Price? We got far more than we paid for. Would we go back there again? Absolutely.

One last note. The location is a little distance from the centre of the city but just a couple of minutes drive on a main street. Consider this if you just have to be in the centre of activity. It probably won't be an issue since most things in Estes Park close about 9 PM.

Room Tip: We did not see the non-kitchenette rooms but I understand that they are smaller (naturally) so if sp...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danwdooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

After reading Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to stay at the Saddle and Surrey the night before we had to take a late day flight out of Denver. What an excellent value! I agree with all of the comments about the sheets and towels. They were fabulous! The motel room was very clean and it was located in a quiet area. Would return again. Loved Estes Park, CO! What a picturesque town!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights to visit rocky mountains np. not so modern but spacious and clean room with comfy beds. at morning there were some sweets and free coffee the entire time. also glad to have the access to a guestcomputer. indeed the owners are friendly, he told us about the elk who had visit his property so we could go and watch. glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reismeisjevlaanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 km away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
110 reviews
2.6 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,055 reviews
1.9 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
506 reviews
2.5 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.4 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Estes Park

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $151 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical roadside motel with comfortable cozy rooms where you park at your door, and use a real key to enter your room. We strive to make your stay like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle & Surrey Motel Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing