We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
52
41
33
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
41
33
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing pond ice cream socials trout liquor store swimming pool large cabin wi fi laundry room close to town worked fine big thompson river holiday weekend visitor center elk bathhouse estes minature
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were pretty worried about our stay here because of all the negative reviews, but it worked out fine for us. We didn't use the bathrooms as we used our own and we were busy in the park and town to use the pool, but we enjoyed the pond and our site a bit.

If the campground was full, I would agree that it would be pretty cramped in there, but when we were there, it was probably 1/3 full or so, so we had enough room. Location makes it easy to get into town and the park. There is a grocery store and gas station right next door.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank TravelingE-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

BEWARE - Spruce Lake RV is not what they advertise. They DO NOT accommodate groups.

Even after making our special reunion camping trip reservations at Spruce Lake seven months in advance and specifically reserving four sites together with the help of office personnel, when we arrived at Spruce Lake RV, the management had separated the reunion group. Each rig had driven approximately 1200 miles to get there, was assigned a different site around the park. The seven months of planning for this reunion were effectively, ruined!

The Spruce Lake office had closed at 4:00 p.m., yep, even during peak travel months. The “late” arrival packets were in a box out front. Our packet directed us to a site that another rig was already in! When we finally found someone to help us he told us that those people needed a 50amp site, well, SO DID WE!! He found us another site, alas, no 50amp. So not only did they ruin our reunion, but also assigned us a site that did not accommodate our rig as our reservation had confirmed.

In our 40 years of RVing, we have never had a campground change our reservations after we had booked them with confirmation. Shame on them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed here in June 2017. Everything was clean and well maintained. Arrived too late to use pool and hot tub, but we did enjoy walking around the pond. There is a fountain running in the pond, and that spray made the best white noise: My sleep was not interrupted one bit by night-owl neighbors, and in the morning when we left early and most others were still sleeping, I felt the fountain splash helped diffuse any sounds we made. The bathrooms were clean, and the showers felt great. The host we spoke with was very friendly, so I am surprised to see negative reviews from others who ran into rude staff. I guess it is just who you bump into.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dale & Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We planned a 4 week RV trip with many stops along the route. Spruce lake was the ONLY one to keep a large deposit $151 after needed to cancel after my husband fell and broke his hip. We cancelled 1 month before arrival date. I will not stay at this resort in the future and I urge all seniors to do the same.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank LoisHickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

In great location. Only problem for us is we are in our 70s and the altitude was between 7500 to 11000 at national park. And it got us. The sites at the park were really wide we have s 42 foot fifth wheel and a big dually and had lots of space next to our rig. We were warned to lock all doors. As the. Bears come to see what they can find and know how to open doors!! Honest!! the only other thing that was a bother was the sites were a mixture of dirt and gravel and it rained everyday so there was a little sweeping to do and wiping our little seven. pound poodles feet. Oh and the sites were very legal and people were really nice. Even took us to our site to make sure we had no problems. Also had curb side trash pick up between 8-10Am. Cuz of the bears!! Great rating we would stay again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews