We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great jumping off point.”
Review of Lazy R Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy R Cottages
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great jumping off point.”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Lazy R cottages over Columbus Day weekend. We often stay in Etes Park, but it was our first time at Lazy R. Our Unit, Bear Paw (unit 4) is one of the smaller and older cottages. the kitchen isnt much and it is a bit outdated. The bed however, was extremely comfortable ( a nice pillow top mattress)The shower, although small, had plenty of pressure and plenty of hot water. The unit features a fireplace and its own hot tub. The staff are great. They are planning to update this cabin and if they do, i am sure it will rank an Excellent in all categories. We will definitely stay here again.
As an added bonus, the cottages are near a couple of our favorite restaurants. Smokin Dave's BBQ is just across the street, and the Rock Inn is only about 1/2 mile away. Both have great food and drinks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trouteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    63
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
112
64
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Masterpiece, which was right next door to the wedding site (Wild Basin Lodge). It's also conveniently located across from an entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. On the plus side, it's quite picturesque. It has three bedrooms, which worked out well for our family. It was clean and provided all the necessary accommodations. However, there were major drawbacks. Two of the bedrooms are on the lower level, which is only accessible by exterior stone stairways that are somewhat dangerous even in daylight. These stairways are not lit up at all after dark! Extremely dangerous in the dark. Another problem is that if someone staying in a downstairs bedroom wants to go to the kitchen or watch tv on the main level, there's no way to get there except by these outside stone stairs, and they would need to have a key to the main level in addition to a flashlight! I cannot recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterlover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We booked Lazy R for a weekend wedding. We found that the cost was some of the lowest in Estes Park, comparable to Super 8, so we were skeptical. Upon arriving, we found the hotel to be outside the mess of downtown and very close to Rocky Mountain National. We had the smallest cabin, which was actually a duplex. (The only one there.) The room was ample, with a queen bed, decent sized couch and a small kitchenette. The complex was quiet and close to everything. The value was beyond expectations. It's not four-star resort, but it's a great value!

Room Tip: Cabin 7a and 7b share a wall, ajoining door and driveway. It was surprisingly quiet, but you look in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Lazy R Cottages in Estes Park. It was very close to the entrance of the Rocky Mountain National Park and we did some great hiking and had some wonderful picnics. Estes Park is great, though things are quite expensive. We went to the movie theatre that is 98 years old. Very nostalgic. The cabins were adequate. We stayed in number 18 and it was a suite cabin. One large room with a fire place and queen bed. The carpet was VERY warn and stained. Parts of the cabin were not very clean. There were cobwebs around the window and dust on the rock hearth, corners of the bathroom, etc. The bed was quite comfortable. The kitchen had the basic items needed. The office staff were pleasant and helpful. We loved Estes Park but will probably look for another cabin on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Let me start by saying that it is unfortunate that I can only choose between average or very good because if I had the opportunity I would definitely score Lazy R Cottages as "good" ! The value is great, you get a cosy cabin for a very good price, located in Estes Park and very conveniently located to visit RMNP.

We stayed in Unit 2 Bighorn which had 2 bedrooms, kitchen and full bathroom. The cabin itself was cosy and had everything you need but do not expect any frills. It's a nice touch that you can rent DVDs for free. We did not use the BBQ as it was not so nice to sit on the porche neither was the BBQ very clean.

Our cabin was close to the road and the cabins are quite close put together. I know I could have checked this if I had read the website in more detail and could have taken a more secluded (more expensive) cabin. All by all we had a great stay as we went out hiking all day in RMNP which is just incredible and only used the cabin to sleep & shower. To be honest besides that the cabin was close to the road and the cabins close to each other, the cabin was actually very good and we really liked our stay.

Should I ever be so lucky again to have the opportunity to visit RMNP or Estes, I would probably pick Lazy R Cottages again, only I would go then for a more secluded cabin which would be actually still a very good deal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 km away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.2 km away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.2 km away
Dao House
Dao House
#59 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.1 km away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy R Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy R Cottages

Property: Lazy R Cottages
Address: 891 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price range (per night): $127 - $227
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy R Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled below Colorado’s radiant mountaintops is beautiful Lazy R Cottages. Our one-, two-, and three-bedroom cabins (some with personal hot tubs) are perfect for romantic escapes and family vacations. Kitchens, fireplaces, decks with mountain views, playground, gas grills, free Wi-Fi and DVD movies. There are scenic hiking trails and endless fishing waters just minutes away. Pets accepted in some units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy r Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Lazy R Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing