We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
83
90
93
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
90
93
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs and sausage room was clean grassy area make your own waffles yogurt full kitchen sliding glass door checking in road trip ocean view motel california coast lighthouse linens seals proximity
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We spent one night here when visiting Redwood National Park last month. The man who checked us in late that night was nice and helpful. The room was large but just ok. We had a rollaway and they charged us $20 for it! I don't remember seeing anywhere that they charged that much since most hotels charge $10.

The breakfast was slim pickings. We did go towards the end of the breakfast time but there were many people who arrived after we did and they made no effort to restock anything. Even the bread was out. The breakfast attendant kept walking by and saw everything was empty but she just poured herself some coffee and went to the front desk to chat.

If I ever found myself in need of lodging in this area again, I would probably try a different place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInn C, Front Desk Associate at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

I'm sorry you felt this way about our Breakfast and our Attendants. I hope you have a better stay with us in the future or at other Choice Hotels.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Hotel ratings are about meeting expectations and the mid-range tariff here sets certain expectations, few of which are met. If it wasn’t for the dowdy surroundings this decades-old faux Mexican hacienda style hotel might have had some drive-up appeal. Unfortunately, it doesn’t get any much better on the inside.

The good: we had two guest rooms of which one was spacious and the other cavernous. They were clean and in an acceptable state of repair. Most everything expected was there and it all worked as expected. The beds were comfortable, the linens OK and there were enough pillows to find one that suited. The bathrooms were large (or XXL in one case) and provided the basics. The entire place was reasonably well insulated from external noise during our stay. The included wifi worked fine on all our devices and there is plenty of onsite parking. The included breakfast is the standard chain hotel fare taken on paper plates with plastic cutlery.

The not so good: reception was polite in a peremptory sort of way. There is no elevator to the second floor and luggage handling is DIY. The guestroom décor is from the basement school of interior design and the furnishings are spartan. A narrow glass door leads to what might have been a pleasant balcony – if its sole piece of furniture had not been a soiled plastic garden seat (on one balcony – zip on the other). The air-conditioner is a rowdy relic from a (thankfully) bygone era. The bathroom manages to make the guestroom seem warm and welcoming and the exhaust fan made as much noise as a helicopter but did precisely nothing to exhaust the shower steam. There is nothing upon which to hang clothes in the bathroom and even the towel hanging space is limited.

The annoying: the ‘permanently on’ lights of the covered balcony are not well masked by the drapes so manage to make the rooms that are somewhat gloomy by day into the opposite by night.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInn C, Front Desk Associate at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope you return to see us again in the future or other Choice Hotels.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Given the reviews we'd read prior to arrival, we were pleasantly surprised. It was the service and the breakfast that made this a great experience for us. The man who checked us in (who we assumed was the owner) was a really happy/friendly guy. That may well be because we rented his most expensive and largest room (the only one left), but I got the sense that was his normal disposition. The woman who checked us out the following morning was equally pleasant and helpful, as was the woman who was working her tail off to keep breakfast running smoothly. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, the linens were clean, everything worked, a great night's sleep was had by all. Breakfast was great, nothing out of the ordinary, but lots of good hot food along with the normal breakfast selections. The place seems a bit older, but not in a run-down sort of way. The roses growing in the courtyard were a nice touch too.

Room Tip: We love 1006.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkA1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInn C, Guest Services at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We will pass along your compliments to our staff and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Driving down the coast of Oregon into California we stopped in Crescent City - without reservations. We were shocked when the rooms available were very limited.
We stopped at one other hotel then at Quality Inn. Imagine our surprise when a basic old motel was $240. A night.
Room was ok, clean about all I can say. Beds rolled toward the middle, carpet a little worn.
Word to wise, call ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grpandnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInn C, Guest Services at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are addressing your concern and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at several Quality Inns that were cleaner for a lot less than this $200 room. The toilet bowl looked dirty. The bathroom sink was not clean. There were long black hairs on the bathroom floor and in the sink. I picked up a foil from a toothpaste tube off the floor. The carpet needs a serious shampoo. In fact, my husband wouldn't take his socks off! The area around the door is dirty and banged up. I don't seem to have the wifi issues others mention.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInn C, Guest Services at Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are working to remedy the problems that you brought to our attention and hope to earn your business again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews