We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with Friendly Hosts”
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our hosts Bob and Mary were very friendly, kind, generous and accommodating. With Bob’s knowledge of the Big Island, he was able to do some bookings for us at the last minute and also advise us on the best routes to take etc. We even managed to buy a book from Bob on Big Island (Big Island Revealed)which we had been looking for everywhere. Everybody is commenting about Mary’s breakfasts and we found that it was so good that we used to spend a lot of time eating and chatting in the lanai and gazing at the beautiful scenery. They gave us a list of restaurants and descriptions about each eating place so that we could select where to have our meals.
The place has a nice meeting room for all the guests, beach equipment to take with you to the beach, Kailua Kona a ten minute drive away, a nice lanai with good views, which seems a good place to enjoy your takeaways. The colourful Caribbean lizards provide ample photography opportunities, but can get a bit too close during breakfast time. True to its name, it really is a place of healing and if you are open, magic happens!
Bernadette

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hale Ho'ola B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Mary and Bob are very friendly hosts and very helpful with plenty of recommendations on great places to eat ( a detailed list is available for the asking.) The beds were firm and comfortable which is often not the case elsewhere. We had a great night's sleep. The breakfast was a delightfully varied assortment of tropical fruits, home-made breads and a delicious cheese, mushroom and ham frittata, served to us on a deck overlooking the ocean while we were being entertained by a troupe of curious green geckos checking out the eats.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilohowlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Friendly, knowledgable, and entertaining hosts. Bob and Mary are very approachable innkeepers and provided a list of excellent restaurants and local knowledge.the comfortable sitting area is well appointed with coolers,sunscreen beach mats ect. for outings.The full breakfasts were served each morning with delicious kona coffee,exotic fruit, and a lively storie from Bob..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

After tenting around the rainy Puna area, we were desperate for a place to dry off for a few days. We were able to book a room at the last minute -- the evening before we arrived. Bob and Mary offer a very warm and friendly vibe. They provided us with suggestions of restaurants and what to do in the area (we checked out several of their suggestions and were all well worth it!). Breakfasts were fabulous -- complete with fresh fruits, guava juice, home-grown Kona coffee, and whatever Mary decides to bake in the kitchen! The geckos provided some good after-breakfast entertainment! The rooms are small, but comfortable, and have a nice private lanai for sitting. Yes, there are roosters nearby that will likely wake you up at 5 am, but hey, it's nothing compared to Kauai, and why wouldn't you want an early start to your day in beautiful Hawaii?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lettermantdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

They keep chickens, rooster, and geese....if you are a heavy sleeper or can turn off your hearing aid, fine....but otherwise it is too much constant racket for me.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dahlagerb, Owner at Hale Ho'ola B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

We do not have or keep any chicken,rooster,and geese on our property..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
29.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
29.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
19.5 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
19.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
48.8 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range: $170 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing